Fruits In Beers

Scoop out the remainder, put into a saucepan and reduce to a thick syrup. Bottle in sterlized jars, store for 1 week then apply liberly to golden toasted crumpets...F%$KN YUM!! :beerbang:
Too late... they were down the drain straight after this photo was taken... sounds good for the next recipe though!

Tasted it last night. Poured flat with no head. Bugger all Mulberry flavour. Next time will use heaps more... maybe raspberries again. Stout is a strong flavour for fruit to overcome anyway.

Stout is a strong flavour for fruit to overcome anyway.

I put 2k of blueberrys in my stouttwo thursdays ago and hardly any of the blueberry flavour has gone into it. I just added another two today. Hopefully it'll help but I doubt it will. Maybe stout was never meant to be fruity.

I spent quite a while researching fruit sanitisation for my cherry blonde. The summary of my research is here:
http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...st&p=183275

short version:
- DON'T boil, you'll lose all your fruity goodness & create pectic acid, causing a haze.
- DON'T pulp. Don't bother - This will just make it harder to rack your beer off the fruit. See "Freezing" below.
- DON'T use in primary, you'll ferment-out all your flavour and aroma.

- DO sanitise in water at 80C for 1min or 70C for 2mins. Use a hop-sock or muslin wrap to allow the hot-water to touch all the fruit. Using a zip-lock bag is mostly pointless.
- DO freeze your fruits for a few days or weeks before you use it. This will break-down the cell membranes and make the fruitiness easier to extract into your beer.
- DO use in secondary.
- DO use a sediment reducer, if only so your fruit bits don't clog your tap-hole.

And use twice as much berries as you think you'll need. B)

Good luck!
Tim

Top post Tim,

i've got a tree full of Mulberries that i want to put in a Wheat and i'm sweating on Mango season B)

Yard

I'm finally getting my finger out and brewing a fruit beer for the QLD case swap.
After getting stung by wasps and bitten by mossies I've got close to 800gm of ripe acerola cherries.
I'm intending to dump them into the fermenter at secondary into

80% BB Pils Malt (pale)
10% Carapils
10% Cane Sugar

15gm Pacific Gem (60 min)
US-05

Hopefully the paleness of the malt will allow some of the colour to come through, I suspect that the (tart) flavour should be ok.
Any thoughts/suggestions?

The carapils and sugar are counteracting each other, one adding non-fermentables and the other adding only fermentables :huh: I would go with one or the other depending on whether you want the beer dry or not.

I would go with 250g of carapils since the cherries will be adding only fermentables and the carapils will help maintain some body.

The carapils and sugar are counteracting each other, one adding non-fermentables and the other adding only fermentables :huh: I would go with one or the other depending on whether you want the beer dry or not.

I would go with 250g of carapils since the cherries will be adding only fermentables and the carapils will help maintain some body.

That makes a fair bit of sense Jye, I'd put the carapils in to boost head stability but was after a pretty dry, light bodied beer. OK, ditch the sugar and mash around 65 C. Hopefully this will end up a nice manly light pink :)

I'm trying to figure out how much 800gm of acerolas will add to the ABV of a 23 litre batch. I realize that sugar content of different fruits will vary , but can anyone tell me a ballpark figure?

Got a refrac, use the same method as the winemakers! Volume * Brix/SG

ive got a pomegranet tree in my backyard and was thinking of using the fruit in a wheat beer. anyone got any good ideas?? cheers ben

Got a refrac, use the same method as the winemakers! Volume * Brix/SG

Mike,
I've chucked the fruit in after 4 days in primary (day 4 SG = 1012) fermentation has livened up again but the SG is still on a downward path (currently 1006). You reckon if I read the refrac at the death I can work it out?
Doesn't really matter I suppose - the flavour is starting to get interesting (hopefully "interesting" will soon become good :p ) - expect an rather unusual beer in the swap anyway.

Mike,
I've chucked the fruit in after 4 days in primary (day 4 SG = 1012) fermentation has livened up again but the SG is still on a downward path (currently 1006). You reckon if I read the refrac at the death I can work it out?
Doesn't really matter I suppose - the flavour is starting to get interesting (hopefully "interesting" will soon become good :p ) - expect an rather unusual beer in the swap anyway.

You know my love of out there beers, looking forward to it. One day, one day, I'll have a crack at something, am envious of Fringe Brewers.

As posted by Airgead in the Raspberry Ale thread, here's the site for Frozberries, a Hornsby based supplier. They seem to have great prices on frozen berries & pulp (heaps better than the supermarkets)
Frozberries website

As posted by Airgead in the Raspberry Ale thread, here's the site for Frozberries, a Hornsby based supplier. They seem to have great prices on frozen berries & pulp (heaps better than the supermarkets)
Frozberries website

Note for those in SEQ, they also have an outlet in Ormeau (see Contact Us link on their site).

Anyone actually dealt with them before? They appear to be geared toward wholesale, I wonder if they deal with the general public? I've been meaning to give them a call and try to buy 4Kg of their sour cherries....

Michael.

Racked 22L worth of witbier ontop of 3kg of frozen raspberries on the weekend. It is amazing how quickly the beer takes on the colour. Its bright pink now! Will be bottling / kegging next weekend, and I'll post some more pics.

gallery_42_216_267736.jpg

gallery_42_216_27843.jpg

Just been up to Woolies to look for frozen berries for my first fruit beer & picked up four x 450g packets of McCain Berry Mix (raspberries, blackberries, & blueberries) for $14. The shelves were nearly empty & all the frozen raspberries were gone. :(
McCain seem to be having a bit of a promo (Up here anyway) on their frozen berries ATM. Buy one & get one free.
Might be worth checking out your local woolies if you're interested?

TP :beer:

there seems to be alot of raspberry flavoured beers beers but has any one tried differant fruits like pear in a golden ale and figs in a darker ale
just thoughts of using something like that or is there a reson everyone mainly uses raspberries ???
ps anyone used pears or figs

Woolies at Currimundi had jars of Maraschino Cherries pretty cheap, think around $4 for 500g might be time to think about doing a Kriek.

A few months ago the local fruit and veg barn had a heap of "going out of season" cheeries..
$12 for 7 kg box..(if my memory serves me correctly)
Had them in the deep freeze ever since...
I should have invested in a few more boxes.. <_<

Sqyre... ;)

Have a fig tree overflowing and after making jam, my mum made jam, my partners mum made jam it doesnt look like any figs have been removed. Damn tree is taller than the house!

So has anyone used figs in a beer? Was going to 1/4 them, freeze them and add them to secondary in much the same way Ross makes his banana beer but in a basic english pale ale. Something to allow the fig flavour to come thru as its quite subtle.

I reckon i can get 3kg without having to get out the ladder - that sounds about right for a 20L batch?

Will dry whats left to go with a good blue cheese!

DrSmurto