Food Gardening

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surly

Reaction score
Hey all,

I am very new to growing some food plants. Had chillies for a few years, some berries and herbs.
Last year I planted my first hops and had a decent crop. Can't wait until this years harvest.

In the meantime, I have a nice little spot in the garden where I WAS going to plant more hops. This is a sunny spot with about 2metres of climbing trellis. Anyone have thoughts of what food plant would grow there? Have been thinking of some sort of bean, but open to any suggestions.

Feel free to post your own food crops to inspire :)

Thanks Mr Legless.
Looks to be a decent option. Will stick something in the ground on the weekend hopefully.

If you are looking at seasonal veggies there is an app called gardenate that tells you what to plant each month depending on your location

If you wanted something more permanant maybe some espalier citrus or fruit trees?

That app sounds cool brosysbrews do you use it?

I would be recommending fruit over citrus as you can brew with fruit not so much citrus.

Cab Sauv grapes?..

Actually, I'm literally ripping up my old beds this weekend with a Bobcat and making the switch to giant black pots (courtesy of a mate down the road who had his factory unit used as a hydro dope setup by the tenants) that will sit upon some kind of low profile frame work. I'm over the constant bending over and weeding. I tend toward more constant cropping plants like spinach, herbs, kale, stuff like that. Its nice to grow a wide variety, but for all the time and watering, it hardly seems worth it to grow sweet potato for example when you can get it in on sale for $2 a kilo.

I'm going to look at some heirloom seed this season to see if you really can taste the difference.