Fly sparging technique

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheWiggman

Haters' gonna hate
Reaction score
I'm new to AG and have recently rigged up a new PID controlled recirc sytem. Check out my gallery or other posts for some blunders and shenanigans.
I'm currently 'between pumps', but the only step in the all grain process I'm not sure about is sparging. I understand the different basic types, but one can get overwhelmed with the numerous contraptions and gizmos out there between setups. Not to mention the contentious issue of which is best, efficiency loss etc.

The first time I did it with my new setup I opened up the ball valve 100% to the boiler and literally ran hot water (78°C) straight into the grain from the pump at 8l/min or whatever. It disturbed the grain bed to high hell. Once the level dropped I fired again and maintained a water level at the top of the grain bed. Massive OG, had to actually water it down but worked out nicely. Not ready for tasting, but early samples indicate a fine beer.

2nd run I choked the drain valve and did the same method but pointed the water at the edges of the mash tun to avoid disturbing the bed. Took about 45 mins - 1h. Got excellent results all 'round.

3rd time was a comedy of errors thanks to a busted pump. Poured it on the edges using a saucepan and maintained water level height in the MLT. Took 45 mins. Got shithouse low OG but the mash cycle was stuffed up thanks to the pump. Fermenting. Taste test pending, but bets are on it's filthy thanks to me misplacing some bleach in there somewhere.

SO, for simplicity, I'd like to fly sparge by -

1. Choking the discharge to the boiler to guess at a 45 min process
2. Point the hot water so that it pumps in on top of the edge of the MLT level
3. Run the pump to match flow from the HLT