flower to pellet hop conversion

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

louistoo

Reaction score
how do I convert a recipe requirement for amarillo 5%(dry flower) to my available amarillo that is 8.4% and in pellet form!
please help!

louistoo said:
how do I convert a recipe requirement for amarillo 5%(dry flower) to my available amarillo that is 8.4% and in pellet form!
please help!
Download beersmith and learn it.

Right! thanks. no obvious or simple calculation eh. I'm a bit new to computers and downloading this app. was a challenge.

don't know about T90! I understand that 10% less thing but assume 8.4% aa is almost double the alpha acid content of recipe req. for 5%aa

louistoo said:
Right! thanks. no obvious or simple calculation eh. I'm a bit new to computers and downloading this app. was a challenge.
Depends on your definition of simple, but in short no.

If you're not too fussed on accuracay, you'll get close using a conversion factor that is the alpha acid % of the flowers divided by the alpha acid % of the pellets (and closer again if you times that by 91% to account for the different utilisation of pellets v flowers)

so if the recipe had 50g of 5% flowers, you'd need about 27g of 8.4% pellets (50 x 5 / 8.4 x 0.91)

(edit: clarity)

don't know about T90! I understand that 10% less thing but assume 8.4% aa is almost double the alpha acid content of recipe req. for 5%aa

clear as mud! 50x5=250 8.4x.91=7.644 and 250 divided by 7.644= 32.7 or did i do that wrong!

My experience is that the AA% only really matters for the bittering additions. Whereas the g/l matters a lot more for the flavour/aroma additions.

I'd use brewing software. Enter the original recipe, note the IBUs, then adjust the hop type and aa%, then adjust the bittering charge to end up with roughly the same ibu

louistoo said: