First time brewing unsure if fermentation is going well?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mackem82

Reaction score
Hey guys it's my first time brewing I bought a brew cellar kit and made my first brew on Monday however I checked on it today and there is a slight air leak coming from the grommet in the top? Will this affect my brew? Also what should I be looking for as far as colour goes with the stages of brewing? At the moment there's a slight layer of foam at the top and what looks like a lot of sediment at the bottom? Is this normal?

Cheers

All sounds pretty normal to me, how big is this leak? It's fine if it's just allowing gas to escape, but you don't want nasties getting in

Sounds normal to me too.
Do a hydrometer test on the weekend to see how your fermentation is tracking. Once you taking the reading, have a taste.
The CO2 that's produced during fermentation is heavier than oxygen so your brew should have a nice protective layer on top of it.
If you're still worried about just take a hydrometer reading, ensure its the same over a couple of days and get it in the bottle.
Or alternatively, don't stress, leave it to do its thing for a couple of weeks before bottling. A lot of folks on here use glad wrap instead of a lid (held on with the o-ring from the lid). your small leak wouldn't be any worse than a glad wrap lid. Using glad wrap is a fine way of going about it, heaps of people do it and they don't have issues.
Let us know how you get on.

It's a very small leak I only noticed it when I put some water into the airlock and some water dropped on to the grommet and started bubbling.

mackem82 said:
At the moment there's a slight layer of foam at the top and what looks like a lot of sediment at the bottom? Is this normal?
Welcome mackern80,

Ditto to the above.