Fermentation fridge with US05 in Winter

Middo

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to brewing and with my first winter batches in the fermenters I wanted to know whether I should look to add to the equipment I currently use.

I live in Brisbane and the winter nights see the temps drop to around 10 degrees. I use a fridge dedicated to fermentation which can hold 2 X 60 litre fermenters. I filled both of these with a little over 20 litres each and used US05 on both.

Typically I would ferment this at 18 degrees, I've also read that the yeast / fermentation activity will generate some heat and it appears to be the case as the temp this morning outside was again 10 degrees but the fermentation fridge was 16.7 degrees.

Will the yeast have any issues if it does drop to 15 or there abouts, will conditioning time just take longer as the activity drops and the temp does too?

I use a temp controller which regulates the fridge temp though I don't have any heaters connected which is an option I can use with this keg king temp controller.

So the questions being first whether there's any urgency in getting the temp to 18 with a heater and if so, would a heat pad be enough to do this if I just sit it at the bottom of the fridge?

It's in my garage and well sealed in the fridge so I don't think I need much to help keep the temps where they should be.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading all this and hopefully will get some good advice on what I should do next.

You definitely want to look at getting some heating in there. A 20-60W heat mat is plenty, like you've noticed, the fermentation itself will generate a fair amount of heat. When the bulk of fermentation is over though you still want the yeast to be up and about to finish off the ferment completely and clean up after themselves. Stressed yeast can caused some acetaldehyde (green apple) issues in the finished beer, especially if the yeast flocculate and drop out early.

Definitely get a heat pad. You said your temp controller has the option so go for it. Then you can sleep easy knowing you have the right temperature, all the time.

A quick, cheap, temporary solution is to get a few 1.25L PET bottles, fill them with hot water and put 1-3 in the fridge 1-3 times per day.
Don't let them touch the FVs - you'll risk cooking a few yeasties.
The idea is the heat in the bottles is enough to keep the ambient temp inside the fridge around 16-20°C. Which means that the large liquid volumes in the FV should fluctuate quite that much, and should sit ~18-19°C. So it will vary a little, but only within a, say, 2°C range. It just means you gotta keep remembering to change the bottles at least every night, maybe in the morning also.
I've been doing this for my current Amber Ale - outside temps vary between 5-15°C, whereas my fridge varies from 15-20°C, and my FV varies between 17-19°C. Not ideal variations in FV temps, but it should be ok to keep the yeast happy. It probably would've been better if i remembered to swap the bottles more regularly!
If you want a <1°C variation, get a heat pad/belt with a thermostat

As mentioned by OneEye, the main issue will probably be more at the end of fermentation. The yeast becomes less active as it chews out the last few Gravity points, so it generates less heat, so the temp drops more quickly. The yeasties are a bit more delicate & sleepy towards the end of fermentation, so these temps drops can cause them to virtually stop fermentation.

When I was in BNE, I never used heat. Heat mats, hot water systems, the lot - not a thing. Only ever used cold-side temp control.

US05 will chug along nicely at 15-16 degrees, though a little slower than 18. I did brew a faux-lager at 15 degrees that was judged and medalled as a lager in QABC.

In a confined space, it'll keep warmer than the air temp, because yeast generates heat as it reproduces and confining it means that you have a bit of a heat-blanket effect.

I was brewing at ambient the entire winter in Brissie. It's summer that caused all the headaches.

Not to put a dampener on the replies, they are all good replies - but I would see what other Brisbane based brewers do. I know what I did, but others may do what the above guys did.

This doesn't take into account yeasts (like 3068, T-58, 3178) which prefer that warmer temp or you want warmer. Purely just what the 'standard' Ale yeasts tolerate.

yeah i use a heat belt i just chuck it in on the floor of the fridge im using the same temp controller as you and have maintained a steady 17.5c without a problem

I use a heat belt around the fermenter in winter (in Brisbane). Yes US05 will chug along at 15-16 but I am impatient and prefer to keep it closer to 20. it also means I can ferment different beers (or cold crash) simultaneously. 1 fermenter in the fermenting fridge, one in the house with a heat belt to keep it awake at night.
I live in a timber queenslander type of house which is off the ground and gets quite a bit colder at night than a post-70s brick veneer slab on ground type of deal. ie its got down to 6deg a few times in the last few weeks in the room set up as my home office... chilly way to start the day!

cheap hair dryer works well, I stole SWMBO's when I had both fridges going last month.

MB

Man all you Brisbanites. I'm currently using a heat belt to bring my lager UP to pitching temp of 9°C. Good conditions for brewing, even better for lagering.
**** conditions for existing.

I put in an old towel drying rack (took off the legs). Seems to work with my temp controller.
Towel_Dryer_Rack.jpg

TheWiggman said:
Man all you Brisbanites. I'm currently using a heat belt to bring my lager UP to pitching temp of 9°C. Good conditions for brewing, even better for lagering.
**** conditions for existing.
Sounds like Tassie.

Last week was so cold that I put the heat mat inside the Hot water system cupboard to keep it warm enough to be able to pitch an ale and get it going. It worked, but man alive, it was freezing last week.

Other ghetto solutions:
- a tungsten bulb with ceramic pot or mug over it, wrapped in alfoil (to contain the light). I've been using this in Melbourne, until I realised I had...
- a popcorn machine

Liam_snorkel said:
I use a heat belt around the fermenter in winter (in Brisbane). Yes US05 will chug along at 15-16 but I am impatient and prefer to keep it closer to 20. it also means I can ferment different beers (or cold crash) simultaneously. 1 fermenter in the fermenting fridge, one in the house with a heat belt to keep it awake at night.
I live in a timber queenslander type of house which is off the ground and gets quite a bit colder at night than a post-70s brick veneer slab on ground type of deal. ie its got down to 6deg a few times in the last few weeks in the room set up as my home office... chilly way to start the day!

Exile said:
Weak queenslanders
I had ice on my windscreen this morning in the Adelaide hills
I happen to be cold crashing at the moment a kits all good

Speak for yourself mate, I prefer to cold crash once fermentation is finished.

Thanks everyone for the great tips.... I got home yesterday evening and the fridge was right on 18 degrees thanks to the heat coming from the yeasties. It was 17 degrees this morning so still going good considering the temp got down to 10 degrees this morning. I put in a bottle of hot water in this morning and will keep doing that until I get my heater from ebay.

I read in another thread on here before I saw all the replies and ended up getting a reptile enclosure heat cable....they're only 25 watts and $22 delivered for a 4 metre cable. Hopefully it turns up before the weekend as the yeast activity will be slowing down now after pitching it Sunday.