Fat Yak

BeauVinnie

Gday,

just saw a post from Brewz2you in WA mentioning their Fat Yak-ish kit and noticed a few guys were interested and was wondering if anyone else had tried it. Sounds good.

Jase

Made something similar from there before the kit was out and it lasted very little time at all and can't wait to make it again. The grain mix and hops are what it's all about. It's a partial kit so you'll need around a 10lt pot (big w).

I'd love to make a beer like FY. Is there a recipe available for this?

After LCPA, Fat Yak is probably the most discussed recipe here. Use the Google search option and you'll find heaps. But they're all a bit different and every author swears theirs is right...so how can you go wrong?! :unsure:

Pretty sure James from Brews2you discusses what the extras in his kit are somewhere too. Have a look in his threads in the retail section.

Cheers mate,
Ill do that. Thanks

Regards,

Matt

I bottled a fat yak clone on saturday, the best tasting sample yet, cant wait for it to condition.

Its an extrace recipe I found online.
23L
500g dextrse
250g light crystal
LDME to top OG up to 1.050
US05 yeast
FG was 1.010

5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (45 min) Hops 5.6 IBU
15.00 gm Cascade [6.30 %] (45 min) Hops 10.3 IBU
20.00 gm Cascade [6.30 %] (10 min) Hops 5.4 IBU
10.00 gm Nelson Sauvin[11.50 %] (10 min) Hops 4.5 IBU
20.00 gm Cascade [6.30 %] (0 min) Hops -