English Bitter

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxmcbain

Reaction score
Hi guy's
I'm new to the world of brew and would like some help. I have a can of English Bitter and some light dry malt
would like help with what grains go well and how long to steep for
and what finishing hops would you use.
Unsure what type of beer I'm aiming for so any recipes would be great

Thanks

Presuming you want to stay in the ballpark of English bitter then Engligs hops like East Kent Goldings or fuggles might be the go. You could also try Styrian Goldings, a variant of fuggles. Really you could try anything. Read a descrition of different hop flavours and you'll get a better picture. English hops tend to be earthy or minty, a lot of american hops tend to be fruity, most noble hops tend towards spicy and floral.

What commercial beers do you like?

As for grains - it does depend a lot on what you want from the final brew. Steepable grains are crystal malts including anything with the prefix 'cara' and darker malts like chocolate and black. Depending on the amount these will alter colour and contribute to flavour in different ways. Generally the more roasted the malt the more roasty dryness and bitterness it will add. Many crystal malts will add a sweetness and can help with head retention and body. You could make a stout with this tin if you wanted to use a good whack of black and choc. You could also steep some roast barley for a coffee hit in it and add some lactose to sweeten it (sweet milk or cream stout) depending on preference.
Alternatively you could make a red ale with a touch of roast barley and some cara-red.

I normally drink beers like Pils or Heineken but would like to try something new