Embarrassing stories

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

citraman1

Reaction score
So, I have an embarrasing story to share. Today is the day I found out that refractometers do not give you a true FG reading. The last 4 months I have been scrutinising over every practice in my brewday, water profiles, salt additions, mash temps, flow rate (gen2 robo is my system), pH, starch conversion and for the life of me I have not found out why my FG was reading 1.022-1.030 on all my brews. Devastating! I would altar my brewday with the new info, every time still reading 1.022-1.030. I learnt about stuck fermentations and just about everything that could go wrong with a beer and still couldnt figure it out. Until today. I got home from work after reading refracs are not accurate with alcohol in the solution I raced to go find the old hydrometer. It reads 1.014, bang on my recipe. I nearly cried with relief! My mind went back to the beer I tipped thinking again, its not good enough, it cant be good if it hasnt finished fermenting. I still bottled a few litres of each batch, left it sitting under the stairs bottle priming. I have put one of my last 6 beers I all thought were rubbish in the fridge, pumped to try them in a few days. All that beer I thought was lost! So sad :(
I hope this is the last embarrasing story of my homebrew journey, but it forced me to learn a lot about beer and its process and the science behind it. Can anyone else out there top that?