Efficiency Issues

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muckey

Where's my Beer?
Reaction score
Given the recent discussion about Margas, I have borrowed Butter's Marga, and found that it only took 12 minutes to mill the grain for a 46L batch, and I ended up with a dismal 78% efficiency.....

My question is, given recent discussion, would I be better off using a food processor? Would this turn my excellent beer into award winning beer? Or would it just qualify me for the 'douche of the universe' award???

Please help me, as my beer is too drinkable.

You may need to change over to the food processor, because apparantly, the papiloma (sp?) virus is sexually transmited....and that could cause all kinds of problems with the marga....

I agree nothing dismal about 78%, I have been using a marga for 6-7 years. food processor would break up your husks.

Just wanted to get my beer over the line so that If I can get an award, I'll get the sash and everything.

Thought the food processor would help with this given what I've read recently

I doubt a food processor will help. You need a crush, while a food processor will chop the grain, which certainly will not help at all with efficiency.

This thread has gone straight over my head. Me no understand.

This thread has gone straight over my head. Me no understand.

the OP expressed frustration at getting 'only' 78% efficiency in his brews, and asked whether using a foodprocessor will get better efficiency and make award winning beers. Here's a more ordered answer-

1- 78% is not a bad efficiency. Most home brew programs assume an efficiency of 75% in their default calculations, so that's nothing to worry about.