Easy Cider...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rt1

Reaction score
Hi, I am a beginner who wants to brew a cider. I don't want it to be complicated and be up all night mixing ingredients so some sort of partial would be good. I also don't want it to cost much at all otherwise I would just rather go out and buy a case of mercury draught instead. Finally, I want it to taste reasonable after no more than a month in the bottle.

Asking too much or is there a recipe out there??

Thanks.

Finally, I want it to taste reasonable after no more than a month in the bottle.

im my experiance of brewing cider, it takes longer than most things to bottle condition etc. you may be asking a little to much.

I believe you can produce a cider that will be drinkable after a month. However it will take you longer to brew and condition before you bottle so there's a sacrifice somewhere.

What sort of success have people had just by adding a packet of yeast to a 3lt bottle? Just an experiment, before maybe making a larger batch..
Im planning on doing it anyway, spare coopers kit packet yeasts that arent going to be used for anything else, but id like to see if anyone has made anything decent using this method, or if there is anything to be wary of..

Tart Fuel

4 x 2.4L Berri Apple Juice
4 x 2.4L Berri Apple & Pear Juice
200gm Lactose
Nottingham
Yeast nutrient

easy peasy

if you want to get a bit more adventurous then you can rack the cider into secondary on top of 2kg raspberries that have been boiled in 1lt of water with 1 cup of sugar until it forms a syrup

What sort of success have people had just by adding a packet of yeast to a 3lt bottle? Just an experiment, before maybe making a larger batch..