Decoction Woes

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hopsta

Reaction score
I brewed a belgian blonde today using wyermann bohemian pilsner malt and some wheat malt. I did a bit of research here on the bohemian pilsner malt and decided it would probably be best if i did a decoction. So i thought as its my first time (and only my 4th AG brew) i'd just do a single decoction. Following beersmiths instructions i pulled 7lts of grist and was supposed to let it rest at 70*c for 15mins but i stuffed up and rested it at 80*c for 15mins then boiled it as per instructions.

What effect will the the higher decoction rest temps have on the final product?

I also noticed a thick grey layer of gunk on top of the grain bed in my mash tun, is this just the extra protiens because bo pils is not a highly modified malt?

Another thing i noticed was my at the end of mash time the PH was high between 5.8-5.9 usually its down around 5.5? Maybe i shouldn't have skipped the mash out step, it just took so long to do the decoction i didnt think id need to bother?

Anyway the decotion added an extra 50mins to my brewday and it is a lot of stuffing around trying to get temps right etc, i use an igloo mash tun, im glad i had my immersion element without it i'd be stuffed.

The run off from the sparge was really clear so i shouldnt end up with a cloudy brew, i hope not anyway, thats the only reason i did the decoction in the first place.

So next time i need to use bo pils or any other "low modified" (if thats the term?) malt i think i'll try a step mash instead.

Cheers,
Hopsta