Culturing Wrda Yeast - Is Mine Ok?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thermo_47

Reaction score
OK so I'm pretty new to culturing yeast. I'm brewing a Dark Ale along the lines of White Rabbit Dark Ale and had read some forums on here about reculturing the yeast. Sounded like a great idea!

I no-chill so when I was putting the hot wort into cubes I saved about 3L and chilled it in an ice bath (pretty sure I was real clean) and pitched the bottom of 3 White Rabbit stubbies into it.

The next day I was thinking about it and realised that my ratios were all sorts of crazy - I probably needed to pitch that into 100mL and step it up, right? Too late.

Well my starter did fire, albeit slowly. I shook the hoo-haa out of it often as I could to "aerate" and it karusened after maybe a day or 2 - never what I would call "excited" fermentation but the airlock bubbled steadily and it smelled fruity and good. It's now 4 days since I pitched it and the krausen has subsided (it was only ever maybe 15 - 20mm high) and I'm left wondering whether to give this thing a whirl or chuck it... help?

Does make me wanna get a stir plate...

I was going to pitch it into 19L and then add another 26L once that was firing - the convenience of cubes! But here are my questions:

Can I tell if the yeast is stressed?
If it smells ok, should I go for it? Don't wanna waste precious wort...
Will the SG give me any indicators?
Have I missed anything really obvious?

This is a Christmas beer so it'd be nice not to be disappointed on the day... If this yeast is too iffy I'll go with US-05 - always seems to do the job.

Cheers, Jon

[quote name='Jon's Brew' post='835639' date='Nov 2 2011, 05:54 PM']Have I missed anything really obvious?

Cheers, Jon[/quote]
Taste it.
If it smells right and tastes right it should be right. :icon_cheers: