Cube Bitterness?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

balconybrewer

Reaction score
hi all,

i have been AGing for about 4 months now and have only 'no chilled', i have started to try other brews and am noticing that my brews are way more bitter compared with others of similar ibus

i.e. i have brewed a couple of plaes ales to about 30ibu but they are bitter as all hell, they are as bitter as a 50 ibu IPA

is this a result of the wort sitting near boiling point in the cube for a long time with hops still in there.............?

have i missed a step in 'no chilling' by which hops need to be strained before it is cubed, and yes i do whirlpool but i still get a fair bit of trub into the cube.

any advice appreciated. cheers

Do you have a pick up tube or anything?

Do you use flowers or pellets?

I'm assuming it IS hop bitterness and not yeast-derived as it's just popped up since you've no-chilled.

For one thing, the bitterness is relative. a 30 IBU can be more bitter from a sensory perspective than a 40 or even a 50 IBU, depending on the OG and FG of the relative beers. Hence the common use of BU:GU, and the more accurate, but less utilised BV scale.

Were the OG and FG of the beers in question simmilar? were there any major differences in the grain bills, especially in the specialty malts? Were there any process changes, particularly any that would effect utilisation?

Hi,

I do find that no-chilling adds some bitterness to the finished beer, but I don't think it would be much more than 5 IBU or so at most. I've taken to bittering my beers on the low end of the scale and just factoring in an additional couple of points of bitterness.