Copper Coils

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've decided to make myself a simple chiller, using copper coil etc, however I'm not very good with the hands-on type of thing.

I've purloined a roll of 3/8" copper, and figure this will be good to make some form of wort chiller, and possibly a coil for a HERMS down the track.

I have no idea what to do next. It was good in theory, until I came to the realization that I now need to turn it into a coil.

Any help at all would be appreciated, and I apologize again for getting in over my head... :rolleyes:

Mattese

Hi all,

I've decided to make myself a simple chiller, using copper coil etc, however I'm not very good with the hands-on type of thing.

I've purloined a roll of 3/8" copper, and figure this will be good to make some form of wort chiller, and possibly a coil for a HERMS down the track.

I have no idea what to do next. It was good in theory, until I came to the realization that I now need to turn it into a coil.

Any help at all would be appreciated, and I apologize again for getting in over my head... :rolleyes:

Mattese

i remember reading online somewhere to use your corny keg as the structure for wrapping the coil around. I did that and it turned out fine

I've looked into this but never done it.
Word on the street is to fill it with sand and crimp the ends before turning it. This is meant to stop any of the pipe from buckling.
One thread i read mentioned that he did this with water instead of sand and it worked aswell.

I'm sure you can do it without either, but just be careful not to buckle the tube.

Cheers,
Al

i didnt do with sand, just take ur time the copper bends pretty and rings the size of a keg shouldnt kink ur tube. didnt happen or even look like happening when i did mine