Cooper's Sparkling Ale Yeast

floydmeddler

I live in Brighton England and have just picked up a bottle of Cooper's Sparkiling Ale form a beer specialist store. I see it is bottle conditioned which excites me. Have any of you cultured the yeast from this beer and if so, what are the characteristics? I'd love to brew a true Aussie styled ale using this yeast. Many thanks

Floyd.
kylix-beers4.jpg

i have used the yeast and like you was in the uk (newcastle) we got coopers pale ale - green (asda)

less alc and maybe a less stressed yeast - they have a different lable on the neck so i think the export is different(lable wise only) but it taste just like home

build it up and brew away, its a great yeast - not so aussie as the mega swill beers are like water but coopers is gold

I second Gout's assertion that if you get the chance, go for the Pale (green label)

The sparking is some 5.8% alc, and the Pale is 4.9 ish. The generally accepted rule is that you stand a better chance of getting more viable yeast out of the Pale.

Either way, get the freshest bottle you can (get the most recent "Best after" dated bottle)

Comes up a treat on a stir plate.

Fester Out.

Cheers lads. Don't have stir plate but will step up from 10ml as I'll have a better chance if I start small.

Floyd, when you get a decent whack of yeast cultured up and are ready to pitch, you can expect to get banana and other esters above 20 degrees and more of a pear-like ester under 20 degrees.

Just a base malt like Maris Otter mashed fairly coolish, 64 degrees, 100g of crystal malt, a bit of sugar if you want a stronger version and see about getting some genuine Aussie Hops from CraftBrewer (I see they sponsor your UK Homebrew forum as well). 35g of Pride of Ringwood or 25g of Superpride would hit the spot nicely :icon_cheers:

I'd just like to say I Luuuurve Sparkling Ale. Its my all time favourite brew!

Nothing more to add. Just sayin' B)

I see it is bottle conditioned which excites me. Have any of you cultured the yeast from this beer and if so, what are the characteristics? I'd love to brew a true Aussie styled ale using this yeast
If you search the forums you'll find that the yeast you'll find in the bottle is the same as what Coopers brew with.
I've cultured yeast from Sparkiling Ale without problems, however the bottles available here are probably much fresher than any you can get.
Try to pitch a good sized starter and keep your fermentation temps under control, else you'll end up with an abundance of fruity/banana flavours.

Just finished one on my new "bulk buy" stir plate. Came up a treat. One thing I've noticed with the Coopers is you need to give it a bit of time, (or could just be my technique...).

Bloke at work got me into homebrewing told me how to culture coopers stubbies with Kits

I have never looked back

Have been doing heaps of pommy yeasts of late you have just reminded me to go back to the coopers yeast great yeast

Wouldnt mind doing a wheat fermented towards the bannana side of things

A big thanks to all of you for the info. BribieG, will have a look out for those hops. Sounds like a Belgian yeast with all that pear and banana going on? Wasn't expecting that. Will ferment at 20c.

let you guys know how it went when it's in a glass.

Thanks again.

White Labs also do it as a seasonal, if you'd rather have a larger healthier initial yeast sample... WLP-009

But personally I've had great success reculturing from the dregs of the bottle. And there's always a couple of cartons of sparkling here anyway, so meh

EDIT - As with any starter starting with a small yeast culture, step it up really gradually.

Cheers lads. Don't have stir plate but will step up from 10ml as I'll have a better chance if I start small.

Mate, I made my stirplate from an old PC case fan, a disc of perspex, a couple of rare earth magnets and a commercial 75mm stir bar.

I'm guessing that the whole cost was about $25 (10 quid)

Can send you some photos if you want.

Fester

Floyd, when you get a decent whack of yeast cultured up and are ready to pitch, you can expect to get banana and other esters above 20 degrees and more of a pear-like ester under 20 degrees.

I brewed up a Sparkling Ale clone recipe recently with re-cultured Cooper's Pale Ale yeast. Primary fermentation was at 18 degrees C, and while there was heaps of banana on the nose throughout primary, it has really given way to a less offensive fruity aroma now (two weeks after finishing primary).

Kris.

I brewed up a Sparkling Ale clone recipe recently with re-cultured Cooper's Pale Ale yeast. Primary fermentation was at 18 degrees C, and while there was heaps of banana on the nose throughout primary, it has really given way to a less offensive fruity aroma now (two weeks after finishing primary).

Kris.

Yes I found that myself, banana coming out on primary and I thought "bullshit, these guys don't know what they are talking about" , but on drinking the banana was nowhere in sight. Clever little yeast.

Mate, I made my stirplate from an old PC case fan, a disc of perspex, a couple of rare earth magnets and a commercial 75mm stir bar.

I'm guessing that the whole cost was about $25 (10 quid)

Can send you some photos if you want.

Fester

I'm certainly curious for information on how you have gone about this.. Guessing the fan is undervaulted (5V? 3.3V? Pot?) to lower the spin speed.. Only other thing that put me off is the prevalence of vibrations that they seem to generate when unbalanced..