Coopers Heritage Lager And Dark Dry Malt?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hotchilli

Reaction score
As a complete beginner to homebrewing, my head is spinning with information overload. This forum is amazing! I just bottled my third brew and am keen to get the next one going. I've got no idea about kit recipes, cause basically I don't know enough about beer yet to know what's good or not.

Here's what I have in the cupboard:

• A tin of Thomas Coopers Heritage Lager
  • A tin of Brigalow Munich Lager
  • 1kg of Dark Dry Malt extract
  • 2kg of Dextrose
  • 1 sachet of Morgan's Fuggles finishing hops
  • 1 sachet of Morgan's Cascade finishing hops
  • 1 sachet of Morgan's Ale yeast
So, any recommendations on what I should put down next? Thanks.

To get rid of the brigalow lager use it as a toucan with the coopers lager. Using the brigalow lager by itself and some dex or malt will just be very average. So - consider the brigalow as a tin of light malt.

I'd go....

Toucan coopers tin and brigalow tin
use ale yeat - get USO5 if you can and ferment at 18 deg.
use either hop at flame out to get some taste in there and counter the two tins being a little bitter. This will also get you started into hops flavours etc.
Better again, get some grain in there. Steep some carapils or crystal for more depth.

Good luck with what you have to play with.

Edit: if you go a toucan, give 4 weeks in bottle to mature somewhat.....

Ok, the toucan sounds like a plan. How would I go if I pitched both kit yeasts and the Morgan's ale yeast - too much??

Should I add any dextrose or malt extract?

What do you mean by "hop at flame out"? When is that?

BTW, I'm def gonna get into grains in the (near?) future, but for now I just gotta figure out what I'm doing.

thanks