Connecting Millmaster to drill

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cafestol

Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience running their millmaster (or similar) on the recommended 1050W mixing drill? The available connections are a "12.7 mm (1/2") keyed drive shaft" and a "3 flat triangular shank drive shaft designed to fit a 3/8 th drill chuck". Also, what is the small metal match sized 'key' supplied with the mill for?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm not very technically minded with these things!

The match size key is to fit in the groove in the mill shaft and locates the handle if you use that.
I don't use a drill on mine, as I tried it a few years ago, and used a spider coupling at the time.
I gave up on using a drill when I realised my mash efficiency went down by 5 to 10% compared to hand milling, so I reverted to using that.
I have the original MillMaster now for about 15 years. I mill 5 kg by hand in no more than 10 minutes, so it's no great hardship for me.

Unfortunately they don't seem to come with crank shafts anymore. Do you know how fast your drill was running? I thought the idea was that using a high torque, low speed drill it's within the suitable rpm range.

I ran it as slow as the drill would go. It was a big drill from Aldi. A popular drill was a green shed ozito,but I'm not sure that particular model is still available.
I know lots of brewers use a drill and are happy with their results.
Try it and see how you go.

Does anyone have any experience running their millmaster (or similar) on the recommended 1050W mixing drill? The available connections are a "12.7 mm (1/2") keyed drive shaft" and a "3 flat triangular shank drive shaft designed to fit a 3/8 th drill chuck". Also, what is the small metal match sized 'key' supplied with the mill for?