Cider Volume

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PryorBrewing

Reaction score
I have a quick question, I am trying to figure how many kilos of apples to buy to make 19 L of juice. If any one has had this same problem would appreiate the help.

It depends on type of apple and how old they are. I think i used just over 27kg for 19ltr batch, that was for apples that where picked the day before.
I bought a full pallet cube for $60.

I've no experience in the matter, but I'd imagine the apple variety, how juicy they actually are and your method of juicing will all have an effect on how many apples you need.
If you've got the time, you could do a trial and but an apple or two, weigh them then juice them and find out what ration your going to get.

For my cider this year I pressed 45 kg of apples (60% fuji 40% granny smith) and ended up with close to 35l of juice.

It really depends on the apples, your juicer, the allignment of the planets...

I'd aim for about 25kg kg apples for 19l maybe a bit more to allow for asny losses. its better to end up with too much than too little. You can also get 5kg and press them as a test batch to work out how much to buy for the main batch.

Cheers
Dave

For my cider this year I pressed 45 kg of apples (60% fuji 40% granny smith) and ended up with close to 35l of juice.

It really depends on the apples, your juicer, the allignment of the planets...

I'd aim for about 25kg kg apples for 19l maybe a bit more to allow for asny losses. its better to end up with too much than too little. You can also get 5kg and press them as a test batch to work out how much to buy for the main batch.

Cheers
Dave