Christmas Lotto 2012

QldKev 2nd Place will receive beer from

41. Wolfman - RECEIVED
42. Adryargument
43. Kieren - RECEIVED
44. Juzdu
45. NewtownClown
46. Nick R
47.MaxT - RECEIVED
48. Nibbo - RECEIVED
49. Lanerigg - RECEIVED 2 bottles :D
50. mckenry - RECEIVED
51. Geneabovill - RECEIVED
52. Stakka82
53. _WALLACE_
54. smokomark
55. Josh
56. smokomark
57.Joell
58. yum beer
59. Pennywise
60. Crunched

Two more were sitting at my front door when I got home

Ok, some more tasting notes.......

20121215_182356.jpg

TidalPete, RYEPA.- I took your beer to a BBQ last night. Bloody Nice beer! was a little flat though (maybe filled from keg tap?, dunno..). Crystal clear, clean and a well balanced malt/hop beer. Truth be-told, I have never had a RYE beer before and now its gonna be one of the ingredients on myn "to try" list.

I also sent you a PM :D

EDIT: Please excuse the demon child in the background. (That comes from her mothers side :D )

Ok........ Let this be the first review.

First up is tricache's "Not so much a mystery IPA"

First of all, this is an extract beer. A little bit cloudy, well carbed and a strong taste of treacle/golden syrup straight up. However Its clean and surprisingly quite drinkable (This is meant to be a compliment :) ) displaying that methods of temp control and adequate sanitation are used.

As i said, quite drinkable. Not 100% my cup of tea, but happily finished the bottle without whinging, groaning or screwing up my face :D (like some of my beers)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Second up is tricache's "Combined Forces Pale Ale"

(I wont post pic as both photos look the same)

Again extract, but definetly my favourite of the 2 I was given. Again Cloudy and well carbed. This was alot cleaner and had a less complicated taste.

This proves very well that a decent beer can be made from a kit/extract if your methods/procedures are well in place.

Good Beers tricache.

Thankyou.

_wallace_

Thanks for the kind words mate, glad you could drink them :lol: and yes both are just kits with bits added to them...temp control is the trusty wet towel method :lol:

41. Wolfman - RECEIVED
42. Adryargument - RECEIVED
43. Kieren - RECEIVED
44. Juzdu
45. NewtownClown
46. Nick R
47.MaxT - RECEIVED
48. Nibbo - RECEIVED
50. mckenry - RECEIVED
52. Stakka82
53. _WALLACE_
54. smokomark
55. Josh
56. smokomark
57.Joell
58. yum beer - RECEIVED
59. Pennywise
60. Crunched

Another two more were sitting at my front door when I got home

AusPost was kind enough to drop off Wolfman and Malted's packages. Unfortunately Malted's NEBA had exploded en route (through the bottom of a PET bottle).

Malted was kind enough to include the recipe so will make a batch to taste.

AusPost was kind enough to drop off Wolfman and Malted's packages. Unfortunately Malted's NEBA had exploded en route (through the bottom of a PET bottle).

Sorry for the delays, mine was posted today...

I am lazy.

Sorry for the delays, mine was posted today...

I am lazy.

Do you want me to add to this Cocko or just take it that I have humiliated you amongst your peers once again :icon_cheers:

Sheesh sorry about that, it must have made a mess of other folks mail, that's bad. :(
I'd put it down to a few things,
(1) there's been a thread recently about English Yeasts attenuating further in the bottle (and I think it was a cask ale yeast? or maybe the Burton ale). I think this is happening with these, they do seem over carbed.
(2) Rough postal workers.
(3) Couldn't handle the aeroplane flight pressures given that it may have been overcarbed due to #1.

By all means, brew it if you want but I don't think it is a fantastic recipe. I don't think the caaroma is neccessary and a touch more chocolate would be in order.
I will send you a replacement beer in the new year. :kooi:

Edit: I hope _WALLACE_ gets his beer from me without it exploding!

41. Wolfman - RECEIVED
43. Kieren - RECEIVED
44. Juzdu
45. NewtownClown
46. Nick R
47.MaxT - RECEIVED
48. Nibbo - RECEIVED
50. mckenry - RECEIVED
52. Stakka82
53. _WALLACE_
54. smokomark
55. Josh
56. smokomark
57.Joell
58. yum beer - RECEIVED
59. Pennywise
60. Crunched

Another two more were sitting at my front door when I got home

Posted on Friday.
Robust Porter

Sponge's APA: an excellent beer. Not very pale, mind. I'd call it an Amber Ale, being a deep gold, almost copper colour - reminiscent of Fat Tyre Amber. Big hops up front with a nicely balanced malt back bone. Can definitely taste crystal in there. Nicely carbed, no sediment. Pretty clear but not bright - CCd but not filtered, I reckon.

Good gear, all told. Any chance of the recipe?

Hey Geneabovill,

Glad you enjoyed the brew. I can throw the recipe in your direction if you'd like it.

It wasn't supposed to be overly pale and am preeeeetty sure its the one I was going for more of a hoppy-ish amber feel to it, and may have possible even called it a red pale ale in my recipe on the computer.

When I get some time I'll grab the recipe for you though.

EDIT: Corrent on the CC but not filtered front :D

If that's what you were going for, you nailed it. It'll be one to drink in late summer/early autumn, I think. Please flick me the recipe. I'll pm my email to you!

_WALLACE_,
you got mine and Hippy's beers yet?

Auspost has labelled them delivered, however you specifically mentioned you have issues with them.
Hopefully they made it to the correct place!

Mine is bottle conditioned, so given the shake up it has received, probably a few days to a week in the fridge is called for.
Not sure about Hippy's.

D80

I also sent you a PM :D

Sorry for the late reply to your PM Wallace but my email address never received an alert from AHB regarding a sent PM & your PM was marked as 'Read' before I opened it. It was only upon reading this thread that I realised you had PM'd me.

All very strange, I'm sure! <_<

41. Wolfman - RECEIVED
43. Kieren - RECEIVED
44. Juzdu
45. NewtownClown
46. Nick R
47.MaxT - RECEIVED
48. Nibbo - RECEIVED
50. mckenry - RECEIVED
52. Stakka82 - RECEIVED
53. _WALLACE_
54. smokomark
55. Josh
56. smokomark
57.Joell
58. yum beer - RECEIVED
59. Pennywise
60. Crunched

Added another bottle,

Also I've got a single stubby of Robust Porter today with no name on it?

1. Wolfman - Received Thanks Mate!
2. Truman
3. Adryargument - Received 2 Bottles. Thanks Mate
4. tricache - Received 2 Bottles. Thanks Mate
5. MaxT - Received Thanks Mate!
6. Waggastew -- Received! Thanks Mate
7. Geneabovill - Received 2 Bottles. Thanks Mate!
8. Adryargument
9. BenKen25 - Received 2 Bottles. Thanks Mate!
10. QldKev - Received! Thanks Mate!
11. Lakey
12. QldKev - Received! Thanks Mate!
13. Geneabovill
14. QldKev - Received Thanks Mate
15. mckenry - Received Thanks Mate
16. Josh
17. bullsneck
18. Joell
19. Mardoo
20. TidalPete. - Received! Thanks Mate!
21. NickB
22. jyo
23. Nick R
24. tricache
25. Diesel80 - - Received! Thanks Mate
26. Hoppinmad - Received Thanks Mate
27. Barls - Received Thanks Mate
28. jayahhdee
29.Hippy
30.Bruce86
31.Westaussiebrewer - Received Thanks Mate
32. Robbo5253
33. keifer33
34. NickB
35. BPH87
36. Malted
37. Mardoo
38.Westaussiebrewer - Received Thanks Mate
39. Potof4x
40.Hippy

Sorry I haven't updated the list in a while. I'm gonna go through my unread PM's and reply to those whom are worried their beer hasn't arrived yet ;)

Wallace the glass bottle in westaussie box is my beer :) it's the golden strong ale

2. Truman
8. Adryargument
11. Lakey
13. Geneabovill
16. Josh
17. bullsneck
18. Joell
19. Mardoo
21. NickB
22. jyo
23. Nick R
24. tricache
28. jayahhdee
29.Hippy
30.Bruce86
32. Robbo5253
33. keifer33
34. NickB
35. BPH87
36. Malted
37. Mardoo
39. Potof4x
40.Hippy

Sorry I haven't updated the list in a while. I'm gonna go through my unread PM's and reply to those whom are worried their beer hasn't arrived yet ;)

Wallace, also got hippys beers in my delivery.
Enjoy!
Cheers D80

2. Truman
8. Adryargument
11. Lakey
13. Geneabovill
16. Josh
17. bullsneck
18. Joell
19. Mardoo
21. NickB
22. jyo
23. Nick R
24. tricache
28. jayahhdee
29.Hippy
30.Bruce86
32. Robbo5253
33. keifer33
34. NickB
35. BPH87
36. Malted
37. Mardoo
39. Potof4x
40.Hippy

Wow! It arrived already! I only sent it two days ago. Not sure why it takes Craftbrewer orders two weeks to turn up <_<