Choosing the right hops.....

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheBigMan

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm very new to home brewing and have a question for those more learned than myself. I would love to be educated on what hops to use for different brews. For example: what's best for an IPA, a Golden Ale, etc. I know I can ask my local home brew shop every time I'm buying the ingredients but I'm curious to learn for myself....

Cheers for any help

Thats not really that easy to answer. But as a traditional guide

Pilsner uses Saaz
English beers use Golding,EKG,Fuggles
German beers use Hallertauer,Tettnanger.
Coopers Pale uses POR

That is a very basic guide as there are so many varieties that can be used depending on what flavours you want.

Some hops are more suited to bittering and other more suited to flavour & aroma

Easiest way to learn is choose what you like, grab some commercial beers to find out what you like then experiment.

Brewing Smashes (single malt and single hop) will give you a good starting point for experimentation - pick a base grain and brew with different hops ( if you are into all grain).

You will soon get the taste of what different hops offer, and be able to put your own recipes together based on this knowledge

Also. Use a single hop and play around with the bittering/flavour/aroma ratios to get a feel of what a hop is like if used more for aroma than bitterness.

As Jaypes said, make a simple beer with 1 malt and 1 hop

You can do it easily with a tin of light extract and brew 12ltr batches. That way you will use hops and if you dont like it so much then you wont have to drink 22ltrs

Question about this. If u did a can kit added nothing then when bottling u put a different hop in each bottle. Would that work