Carbonation Issues?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mechanic_23

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

This is my first time so go easy :unsure: .

I bulk primed a spiced pumpkin ale I made around two and a half weeks ago. I used 120 grams of cane sugar to do this after using a calculator. The other day I figured I could probably test one of the out to see how it was going. Only problem was that when I opened it, it fizzed all over the place - nothing too hectic but enough to loose all the beer to foam :angry:

So I was (maybe?) naturally worried I had over primed the whole batch. BUT when I opened another it was fairly flat and almost had no head to it - shame 'cause it tastes really good!!

I remember giving the beer a gentle stir with the siphon after i'd finished racking to the bottling bucket - but is it possible that what's happened is all my priming sugar has "stratified" to one area of the bottling bucket?

Is there any possible way to rectify this in the other bottles or should I put it down to a lesson and stir better next time??

Cheers,
mechanic

How long have they been in the bottle? I've had similar concerns about beers I've bulk primed, but always because I get antsy and want to check on the progress. They have always evened out over time. I blame Coopers for my misguided expectation that beers are ready to drink after 2 weeks in the bottle, mine always benefit from a good month. Try agitating each bottle to rouse the yeast and leave them alone for a while.

Afterthought: was the gusher at room temp? It should froth less when cold. However, how long was your FG stable when you bottled?

Agreed with Phil, rouse the yeast into suspension once a day and leave for 2weeks.

Your gusher may have had a few nasties in before bottling, how did it taste?

mechanic_23 said: