black berry and apple cider extract

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bronson

Reaction score
hi every one ,
this is my first post.
ive been brewing for a few years now nothing too full on mostly kits and parcials.just getting into allgrains now
in saying that, i do like to experiment a bit.

so i had a can of blackrock apple cider that i bought 12months ago to make a cherry/ apple cider and a cherry pale ale.
i made the pale and then relised that the pits contain cyanide and with a bit of internet scaning i couldn't find out if it was leathal so i ended up tiping the keg out.

back to the cider i had some frozen blackberrys (1kg) that i picked @ the local creek last year
so i blended and bagged em in a muslin bag and steeped them for 30mins then added 1kg of dextrose , then my cider extract.
i know nothing ground braking but i had a sip before i pitched the yeast and you could hardly taste the apple.

anyway ill get back to you in a few weeks and let on how it turned out.
thanks for reading.
bronson

1kg blackberrys steeped 40c to boil over 30 mins
1kg dextrose mixed into boiling pot 10 mins
1.7 kg blackrock apple cider mixed into boiling pot

O.G 1034

I tried a blackberry cider recently with last years blackberries that i had forgotten at the back of the freezer.
I used 20L of aldi apple juice, some raw sugar and 2kg a frozen blackberries.
1kg I pasteurised before fermenting, and 1kg was added (pasteurised) post ferment because I found more.
I wasn't paying much attention to the temperature and must have set the pectins which is unfortunate.

It is cloudy as hell, and oddly red (expecting purpleish) but very tasty.

I'm sure yours will turn out great also!