Belgium Beer From Kit - Duvel, Kwak?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
theres a couple of duval recipes on the forum not listed in the recepe database. Have a search in K&K and extract threads for Duvel. I think Henno had a good sounding all extract recipe.

For Duvel - I'd guess

1.7kg light clean kit - low bitterness
1kg LDME
1kg Cane sugar converted to candi sugar

Made up to 20L

Maybe some Saaz hops

Yeast is gonna be the defining factor in this one can't remember which strain is Duvel - but a good belgian strain is gonna be essential

Cheers

Belgians are 70% about the yeast and yeast management. Get a good liquid yeast (3787 is tasty) and temperature control and you're most of the way there.

Note that I am by no means an expert, this is just my 5c, take it for what you think it's worth.

I remember reading somewhere (Brew Like a Monk or Wild Brews) that Duvel is bottle conditioned with Brettanomyces. This is (apparently) responsible for some of the distinct character of the beer.

Also the Brett will (again, apparently) ferment to 100% and this could cause an issue if the FG is too high before bottling (for reasons of bottle grenades).

:icon_cheers:
EK

I remember reading somewhere (Brew Like a Monk or Wild Brews) that Duvel is bottle conditioned with Brettanomyces. This is (apparently) responsible for some of the distinct character of the beer.

I think you're thinking of orval that's bottled with brett, pretty sure duvel has only the equivalent of wy1388 in it.

Any ideas how to brew it from kit?
I've checked RecipeDB, can't see a reference...

Mate of mine was using this as a base:
http://www.grainandgrape.com.au/product_in...roducts_id=8213

GrainNGrape are miles away from me... not sure are there any options?