Balancing beer flavours

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roverfj1200

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm still new to this beer thing and I'm sure you can learn news things all the time.

So anyway was wondering if there is a easy to under stand way to balance a beers sweetness and bitterness. I have made a few darker beers using caramalt and crystal. These beers came out to sweet even with me lifting the bitterness to around 30 IBU.

Cheers.

There is a sweetness/bitterness balance value formula which I have some documentation on and have used for years. Balance depends largely on a brewers experience as FG must be determined prior to brewing. After brewing the same recipe repeatedly using the same malt bill, yeast strain, fermentation regime etc on the same system, expected FG can be predicted with some reliability.

Ref here: http://klugscheisserbrauerei.wordpress.com/beer-balance/

Hope this helps,

Screwy

Brewing software have a BU/GU ratio which tells the balance of hops V's malt.
When my beers were sweet will having adequate bitterness it was under attenuation of the yeast. Something to watch.

As above a full recipe and process could help people spot where the balance is lost. Nice reference by Screwy too cheers