Air Lock Not Bubbling

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ah_glenno

Reaction score
hi all, got a coopers brew kit the other day, so this is my first time brewing, i added the yeast when the wort was about 28C, and it has since cooled down over a couple of days to about 24C, unfortunately i havent seen an bubblnig through the airlock. The setup is tightly sealed, and i know something has been happening because i can see there is lots of bubbles and foam on the inside of the lid. I was under the impression that a home brew kit would bubble constantly for a few days? It is set up in my garage so i am not constantly watching it, but i thought i would see it working a bit at least. Have i done something wrong or is it all under control?
cheers

before anyone else says it - ignore the airlock
if there is foam (krausen) on top it means the yeast is active and happily fermenting.

It is rediculously easy to get a lid leak so the CO2 exits places other than the airlock
try and get the temp down a bit futher to reduce esters and fusel alcohols though

RDWHAHB
:lol:

excellent thanks that puts my mind at ease, should i aim for a lower temp like 21ish?

but i thought i would see it working a bit at least.

You are seeing it working....
i can see there is lots of bubbles and foam on the inside of the lid

This is the important bit. That is showing that it is fermenting. Airlocks are evil, and the spawn of the devil. They are liars.... ;)

Any tiny leak at all, no matter how small, around the top seal, or the gromet that the airlock pushes into, will prevent it from bubbling. So ignore the airlock.

The main suggestion I would make is to try and trim another couple of degrees off it, and get it down to 20 if at all possible. Like wrapping a cold wet towel around it, or similar.

Welcome to the obsession. ;)