Adding Gelatine, Will It Stop Fermentation?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reformed99

Reaction score
Just a thought I had about using gelatine to fine (I've never done it before). If I add it when racking to secondary after about a week in primary, will it stop any secondary fermentation, or will there be enough yeast in suspension after the fining to finish up?

Thanks

I assume you mean an ale?
Most ales at 18-20C would be fully fermented within 7 days.
I rack to secondary after 10-14 days, gelatine fine, wait 4 days, then bulk prime. I have had brews drop a few more points in secondary.
Gelatine is great for clearing things up, but wont resolve chill haze.
If you're not fussed about clarify, or do lots of wheat beers... I wouldn't even bother as there is very little benefit to flavour and aroma.

Just a thought I had about using gelatine to fine (I've never done it before). If I add it when racking to secondary after about a week in primary, will it stop any secondary fermentation, or will there be enough yeast in suspension after the fining to finish up?

Thanks
No, it doesnt stop fermentation.
Just leaves a slightly heavier dormant yeast at the end of conditioning.

OK cool thanks for the advice. How effective is gelatine anyway? I usually just leave my brews in primary for ~14 days with the last 2-3 pretty cold at about 2 degrees. Will I see much difference with the gelatine?

OK cool thanks for the advice. How effective is gelatine anyway? I usually just leave my brews in primary for ~14 days with the last 2-3 pretty cold at about 2 degrees. Will I see much difference with the gelatine?