A Sad Day

I have been bottling into stubbies for about 18 months now.

I have about 500 bottles. Most of them are Tooheys extra dry bottles. As much as i detest TED, i like to use the clear bottles as you can see what your drinking! The clear bottles make inspecting a hell of a lot easier as well on bottling day. I've always used a super automatica bench capper. The only bottles i've broken are from capping too fast and putting it on crooked. I have found that the threads chip off some bottles after repeated use however.

After drinking a mates horrid brew out of his keg system last weekend, it only reinforced my belief that just because your using a keg, doesn't mean your beer doesnt taste like *@*$!!!!

It sh*ts me when the LHBS considers me, "Not serious" because im not using kegs, and i dont get any useful support or info.

Unfortunately that avatar is simply Mannie from Black Books.

And for those who need to catch up with their Black Books Doogiechap returns to ABC television Monday night's at 10pm. Repeats I'm afraid.

Most of them are Tooheys extra dry bottles. As much as i detest TED, i like to use the clear bottles as you can see what your drinking! The clear bottles make inspecting a hell of a lot easier as well on bottling day.

Make sure you don't skunk up your beer too much with those clear bottles. Keep them away from direct sunlight and you should be right. TED uses special hop extracts (tetra-hydro-iso hop extract) so they can be left in the sunlight forever without skunking.

It sh*ts me when the LHBS considers me, "Not serious" because im not using kegs, and i dont get any useful support or info.

Time to find a new LHBS i reckon. Who cares if you don't want kegs. He probably just wants to sell you some overpriced keg system. The guy probably doesn't have much of an idea about brewing beer so just asks if you are using kegs to hide the fact he doesn't know anything. Keep lurking in here, i'm sure we'll give you better info than that bozo.

gotta love the my way is the best way home brew shop guys with the forget what you want mr customer i know whats best for you attitude...

theres one like that in my area which i dont frequent unless highly desperate

Episode 1 is an absolute Cracker. A big endorsement from me. :)
The little book of calm gets me rolling on the floor laughing time after time !

Unfortunately that avatar is simply Mannie from Black Books.

And for those who need to catch up with their Black Books Doogiechap returns to ABC television Monday night's at 10pm. Repeats I'm afraid.

Time to find a new LHBS i reckon. Who cares if you don't want kegs. He probably just wants to sell you some overpriced keg system. The guy probably doesn't have much of an idea about brewing beer so just asks if you are using kegs to hide the fact he doesn't know anything. Keep lurking in here, i'm sure we'll give you better info than that bozo.

Trouble with nowra is there is no where else to go!
Mate, this site is a gold mine. My wife still hasnt figured out what im up to in the garage with her esky and all that copper piping i 'Found' at work.....

If i build it, they will come......(The grains that is)

Anyhow, sorry for the thread hijack..

Know how you feel Girds......
I have the problem also..at that HBS...
Not to helpful...But have to get grains from there....when he has some ....or order from...\
The harware store.
PJ