3v Storage Method

losp

Hi Guys,
I need some tips for how to store my 3V equipment.
I have 2 x 40L pots and a 36L Esky. I am terribly lazy and i dont like spending heaps of time stuffing around to make my equipment sanitized.
I need a way to quickly clean/sanitise everything, store it and have it ready for the next brew. What equipment do you guys suggest? What methods?
Thanks in advance guys.

Cleaning tips - well its elbow grease im afraid imo... try not to scorch anything to speed up the clean. I tend to clean as I go, clean the HLT and Esky once all wort is in the Kettle.

3 piece valves make for easier cleaning.

Storage - all my bits and pieces go into the esky once dry, my stand pulls apart into 2 pieces to make for easier stacking.

Unless you pots fit inside the esky it shall take up some room regardless!

Alternative - keep it on display and make it the showpiece of the shed!!! :D

Pretty much the only way is to clean as you go. Eg, once the mash is finished and the wort has drained into the kettle, I take clean it up as the kettle comes to the boil. If I sit it outside, it's dry once I've finished the brew and can pack things away in it (esky style mash tun). Buy some cheap storage units from Bunnings etc to stack everything in once completed, they're as cheap as $19 for the very basic ones.

The only other good way of cleaning is to have a system that easily allows it. I've seen brew tree setups where the pots pivot sideways for cleaning, making it nice and easy.

Wrong forum I'm afraid :(

You mean I put my thread in the wrong place? Or that if i am lazy then i am unable to be doing HomeBrewing in general ("wrong forum")?
Im just looking for a couple of tips, be it time saving or cleaning agent wise, which would help to have my equipment in a good shape so that i would only have to do some light work before i brew.

You mean I put my thread in the wrong place? Or that if i am lazy then i am unable to be doing HomeBrewing in general ("wrong forum")?
Im just looking for a couple of tips, be it time saving or cleaning agent wise, which would help to have my equipment in a good shape so that i would only have to do some light work before i brew.

losp,

There is no "easy" way to keep your brewing gear clean & sanitised. It's all a labour of love & those who can't be bothered cleaning their gear properly or try taking shortcuts usually end up sitting on the wayside nursing their infected beer.
Click on "Articles" at the top of the forum & have a browse through all the information there.
Do a search using "Sanitation", "Cleaning", or something along those lines & you will be rewarded with lots of info that will be of help to you but sadly, not too many "shortcuts"
Perhaps getting a pressure cleaner might speed things up for you. Certainly building a brewframe will enable you to keep most of your gear in the one place & allow you to store your small stuff in the MT & kettle in between brews.
Good luck with it.

TP

Cleaning is a pain but it's less of a pain when you do it straight away. I'm very very lazy about cleaning (very hardworking in many other ways) and don't always follow my own advice. Everytime I don't I wish I'd done it differently.

At the very least, empty the grain, give everything a rinse and fill with sodium percarb. Then come back to it the next day, clean properly and allow to dry. I turn pots and tun upside down to drain

I always sanitise right before use - I don't trust sanitising and then leaving indefinitely. I usually give everything a second quick clean before doing that too and I really am a messy brewer.

Part and parcel of making good beer and 3 vessel means cleaning 3 vessels. Even one pot brewing still requires maintenance.

im probly gunna get shot for this, but if you clean your mash tun and kettle (mine is a rubbermaid style tun and keggle)ie rinse and scrub off beerstone and grain husks for example, then why do you need to sanatize it? wort will be boiled for a min of an hour. imo, if they look clean, they are. when they start to look grubby they get a cupla days with PBW and full of water.

the 'cold side' is a different story. plate chiller always soaks in starsan, fermenters get hit with it, so do kegs and obviously bottles.

Lobo

im probly gunna get shot for this, but if you clean your mash tun and kettle (mine is a rubbermaid style tun and keggle)ie rinse and scrub off beerstone and grain husks for example, then why do you need to sanatize it? wort will be boiled for a min of an hour. imo, if they look clean, they are. when they start to look grubby they get a cupla days with PBW and full of water.

If you haven't cleaned it well enough, the sugars left behind will harbour microbes which may affect your next brew.

In my case if I don't clean my mash tun and kettle the same day I brew the ants, which are f'ing everywhere, find it and have a ball.

the 'cold side' is a different story. plate chiller always soaks in starsan, fermenters get hit with it, so do kegs and obviously bottles.
Same here, only things after the kettle get sanitised. Mash tun and kettle get a good rinse and a wipe after use and that's it. Mash tun maybe gets another wipe just before use if there's a bit of crap left in there. Kettle is also the HLT, so heating up the water gets any remaining crud off and gets tipped once it has finished HLT duties.

Cube, hose, fermenter and anything beyond all get sanitised just before use.

I BIAB in a 40L urn, and have found that using PBW instead of no-name nappisan reduces the elbow grease factor significantly. However, it's a trade-off because PBW is much more expensive.

Lobo

Don't need to sanitise the tun (I don't although I flush with vinegar to clean the oxides from my copper and brass) .

I guess if you no-chill, you could get away with not sanitising your kettle as well. However if you chill and run the wort through taps you will need to sanitise after cleaning. My kettle is currently a pot with no tap so it just gets cleaned. I have recently made a new kettle with a tap which has been used for no chill. I'll be breaking down the tap and cleaning and sanitising.

No harm in playing it safe if you're using no -rinse anyway. It's the cleaning that's the hardest and the cleaning that's super important whether hot or cold side.

Getting an infected brew is demoralising so if there are easy steps to prevent it (no need to dress up in respirator and nirtile gloves with a chemical resistant suit) then why not take them?

I no chill in my mash tun, that's my kettle, that's my no chill vessel. I don't clean nuffin! Just a quick wipe and a rinse. The voile bag gets a rinse under the tap and a wash every few brews.

IMO the primary cause of infection is sad, slow yeast - there's bacteria and wild yeast EVERYWHERE!

A wipe an a rinse constitutes cleaning even if you don't use percarb or another chemical to do it. You may have simplified your process to the nth degree but you still clean.

Just for that comment, Mantickle - I'm gonna leave it for a week and do a "That's Nasty" brew. Leaning heavily on the "Yeast Nutrient" excuse. ;)

So an unclean brew? Kind of like Nick's Leper Lager?

Let me know how it goes.

So an unclean brew? Kind of like Nick's Leper Lager?

Let me know how it goes.

That's the one. A couple of finger and the end of the nose missing.

Q. What did the Leper say to the prostitute?

A. Keep the tip.