Yeast Of The Week 21/4/09 - Kolsch - Wlp029/wyeast 2565

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What do you think of the White Labs yeast?

• 5 - Fantastic yeast

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 4 - Good yeast

• 3- Reasonable

• 2- Wouldn't use it again

• 1 - Spawn of Satan

• 0 - Never used it before

• Total voters
This is my first attempt at a Kolsch after having one at Potters brewery so it was good to read that Keith uses the 2565 in his brew (great drop by the way). My starter took a while to go off but now that its in the fermenter at 17 degrees its going nuts. I have never seen so much krausen and it only took off sunday arvo. I've read that its a hard yeast to clear out so my question is, what is the optimum fermenting schedule for this beer and yeast? Usually i primary any beer for 5 days, collect the yeast slurry, then secondary for a week or so, but should i do it different this time? We have a temp. controlled fridge so no problems there. Cheers!

I'm yet to brew a Kolsch (it's 3rd in line on my brewing schedule), but from talking to other brewers and reading some info on the yeast the options appear to be crash chill then filter to remove any remaining yeast in suspension, or a long, cold lagering period to get the yeast to drop out.

Not having a filter I'll be going for the long lagering time - probably with some finings added to speed up the process a little.

Good luck with it - let us know what option(s) you take and how they work for you.

Benniee

Thanks Benniee, i was thinking a crash chill would be the way to go but will have to do some research for temps and how long for i guess. I was just thinking after secondary dropping the temp down to 3 or 4 degrees for a couple of days? Does that sound right?