Which Hops For What Beer Database

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

black_labb

Reaction score
hi everyone
i'm fairly new to brewing having only done 4 brews (2 kit&kilo, one partial and a toucan (still fermenting), but realised i have most of what i need to do a AG. i bought a 30L coffee urn that many people use to for BIAB in to modify to make a still with (been making some pretty good rum imo). all i really need to do for a BIAB setup is to get the bag.

as someone who cant just leave a recipe alone i plan to do a ~23L size grain mash, and then separate it into a 3-4 sections to boil with the hops so i can compare the differences i can make with the different hops and combinations, one of those i will use the base recipe.

what i really would like to do is form a database of known beers/beer styles and a rough guide as to what hops are likely used in them and how (bittering,aroma ect) . i think it would be helpful for people who are not knowledgeable on hops in general and understand what flavours are likely to be like.

from what i've read australian beers tend to use mostly pride of ringwood hops.

i think saaz is a hop used in alot of european lagers and pilseners

is there some type of hop database that works a bit like this?
if not would anyone with some more experience with hops be interested in helping out? i'd like to get this developed into an sticky thread or similar. i'm happy to put the information together but obviously dont have the knowledge to make the body of the thread/database.