What's next?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rosscomatic

Reaction score
Hi all

So I'm brand new to the brewing game and this forum. So sorry if this has been asked before...

My setup consists of a Coopers fermenter and associated stuff that came with it, and a bajillion PET bottles... I obviously then buy kits and extracts and yeasts and hops as required, and then make what I refer loosely to as "beer".

In terms of next steps, what would have the biggest impact on the quality of my brews do you think? I'm leaning towards some way of controlling the fermenting temp. Would that be right? Or is there something else that I might need...

Currently I sit the fermenter on my kitchen bench (and my wife doesn't even mind!!!) so the temp is moderately controlled, but definitely not perfect.

Thanks in advance!

Rosscomatic.

Ferm Temp control will have a huge impact on quality,all fridge (I picked mine up off the side of the road in hard rubbish collection), tested, it needed a fan ($30 ebay) then an STC1000 ($20 ebay) if your confident doing electrical stuff should have it sorted in an afternoon, there are several threads in the DIY section of the forum on exactly this.

and get into buying better yeasts, dry is fine, rehydrate and pitch adequate numbers....

Otherwise some good insulation and a cool spot might be enough for you to get started.

If you are anxious to get brewing a polyester wall batt will encircle many fermenters perfectly. From there a few freezer bricks shoved down the side can decrease the temp of your brew.

Eventually you will need a fridge (or similar) as mastersBrewery has correctly stated.

Using a better quality dry yeast would be ….bah….yum beer…. what he said.