What Was Your Staple Beer "before" Hb

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewer_010

Curry Master
Reaction score
I'm interested in knowing what was everyone's beer they "mostly" drank before getting into homebrewing (if you remember that far back :p ). Maybe others are too?

Me, I mostly bought tooheys new by the case, but also bought 'boutique' beer by the six pack to mix it up a little.

I haven't actually bought a case of beer since about 3 yrs ago, and then it was Coopers SA....yum yum.

Cheers!

:beer:

probably some disgusting "beer" like carlton cold or tooheys red.

the only reason i got into homebrewing was because i was a poor uni student and was finding it too hard to afford beer.

that was a long time ago now, and these days i homebrew because i can make a better beer than most the big name breweries flog off.

i wasn't too worried what it was, as long as i could get enough into me to get drunk without spewing first. sometimes it was a challenge. warm carlton cold anyone??

when I was a younger lad it was anything. mostly CUB or coopers. But AS I got old and the next day headaches got harder to cope with I moved onto less preserved beers like Becks. Becks was a staple (and still is if I have to actualy buy a case). Buy is such a dirty word when its placed directly before the word beer!

which ever "heavy" beer was on sale that week and the cheapest bottle of tequila

i get a headach just thinking about that now

-Phill

Funilly enough, before I started making my own, I drank very little beer ( mostly red wine), a case would last 3 months ( generally bought for Xmas) and if I had a preferrence it would have been Cascade Pale Ale.

Mass manufactured beers taste so insipid, I have a real crisis if I'm in a pub and someone asks what would I like. Generally go for whatever dark beer is available.