What to use for a first timer person to drink it.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gerva

Reaction score
Hi guys im new to home brewing ive done a few batches for myself and wondering one what i can brew for a friend as this be his first time drinking home brew beer. Im thinking of a Pale ale with good hops flavor better yeast and high in Alcohol, or either a Stout with added extra choc malt and dark malt extract and hops with it and a good yeast, any ideas what i can do for him. P.S.... i hate using coopers yeast as it leaves a apple flavor and smell.

Generally a good American Pale Ale that isn't too over the top does the trick.

Something along the lines of a coopers canadian blonde, with US05 yeast fermented at about 18-20 degrees.

DME/LME of a light-medium variety with some steeped medium crystal and boil some american hops (citra is a good'un) in the resultant liquor for 10 minutes to around 15 IBU.

Look for and grab the kits n bits spreadsheet on the forum (somewhere) to work out the numbers - use these as the basis for quantities of how much of each you put in. But you are aiming for around:

OG: 1.050
FG:1.010 (or so)
IBU (including the kit): 35 IBU

US05 yeast - as it's clean, neutral and leaves the hops in place.

Generally, what I do when making a beer for (or to share with) someone, I find out what style of beer they enjoy. I know some of my friends really enjoy pale ales, and some enjoy porters. You can also find out what their favourite beers are, and try to find a clone recipe, or something with similar flavours.

ED: And don't make something high in alcohol for the hell of it. You want the alcohol flavour balanced with the other flavours. And as LRG points out, US-05 is a fantastic yeast to use in pale ales, etc. Cheap, easy to use, and good flavour profile.