What Can I Expect From This ?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dago001

Move Along - Nuthin To See Here
Reaction score
Hi all, I have put down this recipe and I am not sure what type/style of beer to expect.

1.5 kg coopers LLME
1.0 kg LDME
0.5kg dried wheat extract

12g cascade pellets @ 40 mins boil
12g cascade pellets @ 20 mins boil
10g amarillo pellets @ 5 mins
10g amarillo pellets at flame out
safale s05 yeast

Any suggetions? I am a newb at extract brewing.
Cheers
David

I'm new to extracts as well, but it looks like an American Pale Ale style to me.

Yeah. Thought that myself, but just wanted a little confirmation. It was a mix up of a couple of recipes to suit ingredients that I had at home.
Cheers
David

Havent done any sums, but it seems a little underhopped.

What size is the boil to be? Are you boiling all the extracts? IMO I think it would benefit from a little crystal malt also. Depends on what size the boil is and how much of the extracts are going in to it on weather it need more hops or not. Also what's the final volume?

Thought about crystal malt, but unable to acquire any at the moment.
Boil size is 6 litres with LLME and half LDME.

Edit: final volume 20 litres

I don't have access to BeerSmith ATM so I can't work much out for you but may I suggest doing the 6ltr boil with just 600g of the dry malt and add the rest of the dry malt with 10 mins left on the boil, then add the licquid malt at flameout. This will give you a better boil gravity to utilise the hops, and you wont need to use as much. I think though, you'll still need a bit more bittering hops to balance out the sweetness. Anyone care to put it through BS for the lad.