What are you brewing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just mashed my Trappist again for the third time, first one is great, 2nd one in CC and tasted good when racked, the test is to see if I can repeat the first one.

Great.
Now you're teasing us on two threads
:(

I have no idea how to make a juniper distillate(anyone?). So I have decided to add the juniper berries at the end of the boil. I'm guessing an amount of 80g for the 40 litre batch as a first attempt. Will see how it turns out....
You could rehydrate your berries in vodka.
I threw mine in at the end of the boil. I'd really suggest using 1/2 that amount to start with. They really do add a lot of smell. I used 20gms in a 25L batch and i should have used 1/2.

I made up some juniper berry tea as a trial and extrapolated it to 40 litres.... was suprise with the colour it added

Will drop it back to 1g per litre

I'm putting down my xmas amarillo ale tomorrow. Inspired by JS golden and a lot of the tips in the related threads here:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 26.50 L
Boil Size: 30.43 L
Estimated OG: 1.040 SG
Estimated Color: 9.6 EBC
Estimated IBU: 24.6 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.0 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
2.80 kg Pilsner, Malt Craft Export (Joe White) (3.Grain 58.3 %
1.10 kg Wheat Malt, Malt Craft (Joe White) (3.5 EBGrain 22.9 %
0.70 kg Munich, Light (Joe White) (17.7 EBC) Grain 14.6 %
0.20 kg Caramalt (Joe White) (49.3 EBC) Grain 4.2 %
20.00 gm Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (60 min) Hops 17.0 IBU
25.00 gm Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (10 min) Hops 7.7 IBU
30.00 gm Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (0 min) (Aroma Hop-Hops -
Yeast US-56

Not quite what I'm brewing but what I wish I was brewing.
Would love to be putting down a Mead and a lawnmower beer, but alas house & garden chores will have my attention to be ready for the influx at Xmas and the compulsory Xmas parties.
Had to put down an emergency Northern Districts Brewing IPA Fresh Wort kit to have in ready for the Beer Engine on Xmas day. Hoping it is a great drop Gerard.

Doing a cut-down Roggenbier (only 30% Rye or so), wish me luck for the sparge...

Not enough luck, had a trickle sparge. Took a good 1.5 to 2 hours to sparge the damn thing (and i batch sparge). When i finished there were still some strange glutinous doughballs in the mash (didn't seem to affect efficiency, although i probably lost some of the decoction's extra efficiency). I had to add 800g of Rice hulls (or is that Gulls) to get it to flow anywhere near respectably. Only added 20g of Carafa III because it seemed dark enough already :beerbang:

Anyway, it's finally on the boil now, have to reduce 35L to 23L over a 90 min boil - the burner is on full bore with the lid completely off. (Not a NASA so the neighbours are sound asleep)

Tastes lovely, and everything i've heard about rye worts having "texture" and "silkiness" is true - although my definition would be more like "goddamn sticky"

Yes, you're right, but you use the proper yeast, besides the sulfur smell dissipates with time, the esters from high ferment temps don't though. You're getting a bit confused between the two...

Wyeast 2112 California Lager ferments at around 17 degrees with no issues. Right yeast for the job. :beerbang:

Yep, that's the one I use for the steam beer. Quite a nice yeast, doesn't make any funky flavours that I don't like. I stumbled across the recipe when I was looking for some AG recipes and I thought that the style name sounded good. The bloke at the LHBS told me about the 'lager at ale temps' thing. That one turned out all right, but not hoppy enough. So I upped the hops, turning a 40 IBU batch into a 120 IBU batch (outside the style guidelines which is 0-100 apparently, but I really don't care). Tasted great into primary, will give it a taste into secondary (probably do that on sunday).

Not enough luck, had a trickle sparge. Took a good 1.5 to 2 hours to sparge the damn thing (and i batch sparge). When i finished there were still some strange glutinous doughballs in the mash (didn't seem to affect efficiency, although i probably lost some of the decoction's extra efficiency). I had to add 800g of Rice hulls (or is that Gulls) to get it to flow anywhere near respectably. Only added 20g of Carafa III because it seemed dark enough already :beerbang:

Anyway, it's finally on the boil now, have to reduce 35L to 23L over a 90 min boil - the burner is on full bore with the lid completely off. (Not a NASA so the neighbours are sound asleep)

Tastes lovely, and everything i've heard about rye worts having "texture" and "silkiness" is true - although my definition would be more like "goddamn sticky"

This Roggenbier stuff is like syrup - the hydrometer moves at about 30% of its normal rate up and down when taking a gravity sample! Pitched 500mL of WLP300 (Weihenstephan 68 Weizen) and a saved slurry vial of WLP029/Pacman mix to keep the esters under control. Already, i can taste the spiciness from the rye which is coming out brilliantly with the cloves from the W68.

Probably not something i'd do again though because of the difficulty (double decoction, trickle sparge, long boil because of too much wort collected) - i started brewing at 730pm and was finished at 230AM, that's a good 7 hours of brewing for 23.5L of wort, although it is damn tasty and it's good to try something different. :beer:

Bottling a Choc malt Porter that should be ready for Xmas.... :chug:

Then doing a Scotish red with Carared :)

I'm buggered.
A 12 hour brew day.
3 batches the first of which was a double batch... for me :(

Brew 1... Should sound sorta familiar Brauluver...
96% Maris Otter, 2% JW CaraMalt, 2% Bairds Medium Crystal.
Willamette @ 60m, 30m, 10m and flame out. I got a bit carried away using up some old Willamette so it's ended up 1048 OG and 48IBU.
Timothy Taylor yeast.
And just for fun (not) 3l of wort was boiled hard for 120m for some caramelisation; 10l was boiled for 105m and 15l boiled for 75m 'cos that's the only way I can handle a 'normal' size boil at the moment.
I better be getting a decent size kettle for Christmas.

Brew 2. California Common.
65% Golden Promise, 30% Munich, 4% CaraMalt, 1% Choc Malt. OG 1052
This season's Northern Brewer @ 6.2% to 44IBU including 1g/l @ 15m and 1g/l for 1m.
Wyeast 2112.

Brew 3. 'Scraps' Lawnmower beer.
A bit of JW Pils, a bit of JW Trad and some Golden Promise to top it up. 5% Carapils. OG 1040.
Some dregs of POR, some dregs of Target, some dregs of Hersbrucker, and a touch of Northern Brewer all at 60m. 25IBU give or take some aging of the hops.
Wyeast 2112.

The brew fridges are completely FULL.
Time for me to get the same way
:party:

Nice effort Voosher,

I'm planning on brewing 4 straight tomorrow - our tank water is about to run out & I don't want to brew with mains water which the tanker brings on Thursday. Not sure I'll get them all in as i can't brew in the dark, but we'll give it a go... CAP, Alt, American Amber, Imperial APA.

It makes for a long day but in the end it's well worth it.
I'm generally too lazy to start early unless I'm doing a mult-brew day which means that single brew days basically use up the whole day anyway. When I finally get the brew stocks organised I'll only need one or maybe two big brew days each month.
I shall line up four beers tomorrow and crack them symbolically as I imagine you completing each brew.
Good luck :beer:

I'm planning on brewing 4 straight tomorrow

Jeez ross, your just a brewing machine. Hats off to the man who can brew 4 beers in a day! :beer:

By the way. I just put down an IPA with heaps of crystal and caramunich, high 60s in the IBU department. We will see how it goes.

Brad

Well that was my longest brew day yet - I'm buggered

4 brews on one system, 4 x 90 minute mashes, 3 x 90 min boils, 1 x 120 min boil, 2 x 30 minute aroma hop steeps. Started 5.30am - finished & cleaned up by 6.30pm. 13 hours all up :)

All showered & relaxed - now time to crack open some more case swaps... :chug:

4 brews on one system, 4 x 90 minute mashes, 3 x 90 min boils, 1 x 120 min boil, 2 x 30 minute aroma hop steeps. Started 5.30am - finished & cleaned up by 6.30pm. 13 hours all up :)

Ross, you are one lucky dude to have that sought of time to sapre for brewing!!!!

It's not all grain but the closest I'll get. 2 x Norwest Pale Ale fresh wort kits from St Peters brewery put to bed tonight with US56 for both.
1 at 15lt and the 2nd at 18lt.
Sitting in my brew fridge at 18-20 deg.
Should be a good Chrissy this year :chug:

Agreed Slurpdog...there is absolutely no way I could ever spare that much time for brewing!

At least I now finally understand how Ross can have so very many beers on tap at the same time :super:

PZ.

4 brews on one system, 4 x 90 minute mashes, 3 x 90 min boils, 1 x 120 min boil, 2 x 30 minute aroma hop steeps. Started 5.30am - finished & cleaned up by 6.30pm. 13 hours all up

All showered & relaxed - now time to crack open some more case swaps...

I am amazed you could stay sober for that long while brewing Ross, I reckon I'd be pretty messed up by thend of the third :chug:

LOL - I was being good until Jim (Altstart) popped in to drop my off a dvd - That was at start of brew 3 & we wet the whiste with a few B)

4 brews on one system, 4 x 90 minute mashes, 3 x 90 min boils, 1 x 120 min boil, 2 x 30 minute aroma hop steeps. Started 5.30am - finished & cleaned up by 6.30pm. 13 hours all up

Bugger.
You made it :angry:

Now I'm going to have to go for 5 in a day :blink:

Big hand mate. I (almost) know how you feel :D

Status
Not open for further replies.