Waggle Dance Anyone?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dans6401

Reaction score
Hi,
Have been looking to make a brew similar to young's waggle dance. Can not seem to find much info on it.
Maris Otter pale ale malt, torrified barley, crystal malt and Fuggles and East Kent Goldings hops, honey and fermentation sugar??????
Sort of new to this, have started doing a couple of biab's, so i have no idea about the amounts needed, hop additions, best yeast etc. Anyone brewed anything like this who could offer a bit of advice it would be much appreciated.

I would also be interested in such a recipe, unfortunately I am still relatively new to AG (via BIAB).

The only things that I can think of are:
- to have a lighter hop flavour (using Fuggles and EKG)
- should we be using a eucalypt based honey? I have heard and read that this is bad for mead due to undesirable flavours.
- about 500g of honey?

:icon_cheers:
-EK

The only things that I can think of are:
- to have a lighter hop flavour (using Fuggles and EKG)
- should we be using a eucalypt based honey? I have heard and read that this is bad for mead due to undesirable flavours.
- about 500g of honey?

-EK
[/quote]
500g would've been my guess for a 23L batch, although from the little info i could find i got this-
"there is half a ton of honey in every 100-barrel batch. The beer is made from more than 20% honey, less than 80% barley malt"
Personally i'd probably steer clear of the eucalypt honey and go with capilano or something along those lines.

500g would've been my guess for a 23L batch, although from the little info i could find i got this-
"there is half a ton of honey in every 100-barrel batch. The beer is made from more than 20% honey, less than 80% barley malt"