Unmalted Wheat

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Airgead

Ohhh... I can write anything I like here
Reaction score
Folks

I'm doing a wit this weekend and on my ingredient list is 20% unmalted wheat.

I've never used unmalted wheat in a brew before (plenty of malted though) so I have 2 questions - what is the best source and does anyone know what the potential extract is?

For sources I can think of plain flour (might stick the sparge a bit), rolled wheat from the hippy shop, wheat flakes (like wheaties only not covered in sugar) or something like bourgl. I am thinking of the rolled or flaked as they would be pre-getaltinised. Advice from anyone out there who has used these before greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Dave

neonmeate said:
rolled wheat from the hippy shop works for me...
[post="118059"][/post]​

Cool. Thanks. Looks like its a trip into the hippy shop for me. Any idea what the potential extract is? I was going to guestimate it as being the same as the malted wheat and see how that comes out.

Cheers
Dave

Airgead said:
Folks

I'm doing a wit this weekend and on my ingredient list is 20% unmalted wheat.

I've never used unmalted wheat in a brew before (plenty of malted though) so I have 2 questions - what is the best source and does anyone know what the potential extract is?

For sources I can think of plain flour (might stick the sparge a bit), rolled wheat from the hippy shop, wheat flakes (like wheaties only not covered in sugar) or something like bourgl. I am thinking of the rolled or flaked as they would be pre-getaltinised. Advice from anyone out there who has used these before greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Dave
[post="118058"][/post]​

Hi Dave,