The scientific method

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schrodinger

Reaction score
A great strength of this forum is the wealth of anecdotal evidence and impressions based on personal brewing experience. Another is the willingness of Aussies to screw the rules and try something new. Together, these are the seeds for real scientific progress: being observative and being curious.

The weakness of a lot of this knowledge is that it comes from uncontrolled experiments and is not replicated. That is, you decide to try something and it produces a good beer, so you believe it works. But who knows what else may have made that beer great, that you weren't aware of, or thinking about, or paying attention to?

As a scientist myself, I'm painfully familiar with how much can be gained by using controls and replicating experiments (I say painful because I've wasted so much effort on inadequately controlled or replicated experiments). So, I'd like to suggest that we put our heads together and do some experiments, and do them right.

For clarity: by 'control,' I mean you do at least two batches, and they differ in only one respect. Maybe it's yeast pitching rate or hop times or something else, but the key is to change nothing else whatsoever. This is easiest to pull off for cold-side factors, because you can split your wort into two fermenters, but with proper experimental design we can control for things that may randomly differ on the hot side between two batches done, say, two days or a week apart.

By replication, I mean, well, it's obvious. Ideally the same brewer would do a bunch of identical batches, but that will never happen. We can get replication by comparing results across brewers, provided enough people participate.