Storing Beer In Kegs Out Of The Fridge

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Benbrewer

Reaction score
I have a question.
I am very new to kegs, first brew in and chilling and gassing yesterday.
Can I brew a batch and put it in the keg and keep it out of the fridge? I can just fit two kegs in the fridge with it's current configuration, but I only have one set of gas lines.

Can I put the brew in and gas it up to get rid of the air and replace the C02 (instructions call this burping) and then leave it until I need to use it the gas and chill as normal? Or do I have to wack in heaps of gas?

I would think that if I get rid of the air with C02, then I should be able to leave it for an indefinite period until the other keg gets low. Then I should be able to gas it up cold over a few days.

Is this correct

You are correct and have answered your own question pretty much!

Yes purge your keg of oxygen, by burping it and adding some CO2. Then you can leave out of the fridge for an extended period of time, without hassles.

Keeping in mind when a cold fully gassed keg warms up, it shall push gas out of solution - however cornie kegs are pretty strong.

Your one set of gas lines can be split with a T piece and another gas disconnect, so you can drink one keg, while both kegs in the fridge are being gassed up. Thats how I have my fridge configured at the moment.

You are correct and have answered your own question pretty much!

Yes purge your keg of oxygen, by burping it and adding some CO2. Then you can leave out of the fridge for an extended period of time, without hassles.

Keeping in mind when a cold fully gassed keg warms up, it shall push gas out of solution - however cornie kegs are pretty strong.