Steeping Hops

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Finite

All Grain Gremlin
Reaction score
Im going to brew my first partial tomorow (hefe). One of the steps is to steep the hops for 15mins.

What are peoples (cheap) sure-fire ways to steep hops? Im very new to all this so please forgive my noobness. I read on howtobrew.com that you can even use a sock? :blink: :blink: :blink: :blink:

Im using Hallertau but i might only be able to get them in flowers...is this a problem? Do i need to have pellets?

Hi Finite

Stepping up to a partial is lots of fun and makes for a beer with lots more life and flavour. Excellent work.

What are peoples (cheap) sure-fire ways to steep hops? Im very new to all this so please forgive my noobness. I read on howtobrew.com that you can even use a sock? blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

You can steep your hops in lots of different ways. The easiest way to steep hops is to plonk them in a coffee plunger, add boiling water, wait 10 minutes, plunge and pour the liquid into your brew.

Im using Hallertau but i might only be able to get them in flowers...is this a problem? Do i need to have pellets?

Hallertau in flowers, I'd love to be using some, especially for dry hopping (rather than steeping). If you are using flowers, and by all means use them if you can get them, you probably want to boil the hops flowers vigorously for a good 10-15 mins to ensure you extract all the tasty hop flavours.

Good luck and happy brewing,

Keith

Keith the Beer Guy said:
you probably want to boil the hops flowers vigorously for a good 10-15 mins to ensure you extract all the tasty hop flavours.
[post="106199"][/post]​

boil then put em in a plunger?

Hi Finite,

boil then put em in a plunger?