SS fermenter upgrade

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thrifty McThrift

Reaction score
Hi,

I have been using a ~30L Coopers plastic fermenter for the last 3 years to brew Coopers stout, Pale Ale and Morgans ginger beer etc. , probably about 300L through it to date, I have never had any failures as such and only one or two batches maybe had a slight flavour shift, on the whole it's been very drinkable products. The Coopers fermenter doesn't even have a bubbler yet seems to work fine.

However nothing but nothing seems to remove the odour it has accumulated over the years, so I would like to upgrade to a SS brew bucket style of fermenter.

I can't see myself getting any more involved with home brewing than the off the shelf Coopers products and similar, so I only need a simple fermenter. I guess some things to look for are;

1. Not brushed but polished interior surface.
  2. Ability to disassemble the outlet tap.
  3. Short base so I can place it in the laundry tub in summer and immerse the bottom portion in cold water to maintain temperature.
A few questions though.
  1. Any merit/difference between conical base v flat base.
  2. Tall or squat?
  3. Air volume above liquid level, ie. is it better to have reduced air volume, say 23L of liquid in a 25L fermenter than 23L in 30L fermenter, does the extra air (O2) taint the flavour?
  4. Are sealing lids really necessary, after all the folks at Coopers didn't seem to think so.
  5. Anything wrong with the Bucket Buddy fermenters at ~$170
  6. Any outlets in SA selling SS fermenters? Every shop I look at online only stocks plastic.
Appreciate all tips and thoughts.

Cheers.

1. Conicals help concentrate the yeast, hops and proteins at the base. If your fermenter has a tap/valve at the bottom of the cone, you can easily remove it.