Brew Bucket 2.0 or generic?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GCP

Reaction score
Newbie here, looking to jump into the hobby and it's tricky to look past all of the shiny stuff out there.
I plan to ferment LME and then bottle carbonate.

I'm leaning towards a stainless steel fermenter, the SS Brewtech Brew Bucket seems to be spoken fairly highly of.
I'm also looking at Keglands stainless steel option.
https://www.kegland.com.au/products/32l-304-stainless-steel-conical-fermenterA little bigger, $100 cheaper and a dump valve (i don't even know if i'll use it ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

Any thoughts/experiences with either product?

Cheers

I have a SS Brewtech one. It’s just what you’d expect, does a great job. But if buying for the first time I’d get the Kegland one for the reasons you mentioned. Only concern is how sanitary the ball valve is… can you disassemble? I pasteurise all the removable parts of the BB when I clean, would definitely do that with the ball valve on the KL one

I know this isn't answering the actual question, and if you do want to go stainless the ss brewtech is certainly well regarded.

But why stainless? If you are starting out, id recommend a 30L plastic fermenter for no more than $40. There are plenty of experienced homebrewers getting outstanding results with plastic! Good beer is made with good techniques, processes + a bunch of other variables. Start with gear that will do the job and build up over time as you get better. Unless you have the other aspects of brewing down pat, you are unlikely to get any value from investment in stainless steel.

Thanks for the replies...

- Ball valves in general are seen as potentially grubby? Would best practice be disassembling and sanitising each brew?