Short Lengths Of Copper Pipe

kjparker

For my Kettle, I'm going to need a short length of 3/4 inch copper pipe, Bunnings only appear to sell it on the roll, which would give me way more than I need, and it's more than I can afford to spend on this right now.

Does anyone know where I could buy probably about 50cm of it? I could also use a peice the same length in 1/2 inch as well.

Ideas?

For my Kettle, I'm going to need a short length of 3/4 inch copper pipe, Bunnings only appear to sell it on the roll, which would give me way more than I need, and it's more than I can afford to spend on this right now.

Does anyone know where I could buy probably about 50cm of it? I could also use a peice the same length in 1/2 inch as well.

Ideas?

bunnings normally have 1metre pieces in pvc pipe in the plumbing isle

ring your local plumbing supply i am sure they would be more then happy to sort you out.

Also take a six pack of your finest to your local scrap metal yard.
I am in Melbourne sth east and have worked up a good relationship with the bloke at the scrap yard in Hallam. I bring him beer, normaly on a Friday afternoon when its most appreciated, and he supplies me with any offcuts and things that I need.
Its also great if I need larger quantities of metal as you cant beat the price of the scrap yard.
I am in the process of building a new mashtun and will be calling on his services for a new stainless false bottom....

Frankly any real hardware store will sell Copper pipe by the meter, both my local M10 and Home hardwares do. Plumbing supplies wont as a rule, they are set up to supply tradies who will be buying lengths.
It always amazes me how often Bunnings gets a mention around here, in my experience they sell crap and arent cheap, I avoid the place like the plague.

Frankly any real hardware store will sell Copper pipe by the meter, both my local M10 and Home hardware's do. Plumbing supplies wont as a rule, they are set up to supply tradies who will be buying lengths.
It always amazes me how often Bunning's gets a mention around here, in my experience they sell crap and aren't cheap, I avoid the place like the plague.

I agree, but around me there arent really many other options.

If the scrap metal yard trick doesn't work, open your Yellow Pages to Plumbing and call a couple of local plumbers. Most will have a dozen off cuts rolling around in the back of their utes. Remind them you pay in beer :rolleyes:

Drew

If the scrap metal yard trick doesn't work, open your Yellow Pages to Plumbing and call a couple of local plumbers. Most will have a dozen off cuts rolling around in the back of their utes. Remind them you pay in beer :rolleyes:

Drew
Bloody plumbers, came to do my reno and drank a heap of my beer and made off with all the old copper pipes that they removed. Thieves !
GB

I have some copper pipe at home will measure diameter this arvo & let you know you if it'll suit your needs

Ideas?
Clueless PM me, got what you need at home!!!!!!