Secondary Fermenting

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pourmeanother

Reaction score
Hi All

I am new to this brewing caper and have two brews under the belt now. I keep hearing about people putting there brews into a secondary ? Is this another fermenter and does this take place instead of the second ferment stage in the bottle as i was under the impresion that this happend with carbonation ? Any clarification would be nice thanks

Also what is the best time of the day to put a brew down ?

Thanks

secondary is more like a storage vessel I only use them when doing lagers, this is to get the brew off the bulk of the yeast trub so you can condition it for about a month. Other people prob do it for other reasons but its not really worth it unless you are trying to get it off the bulk of the yeast for one reason or another. You can also use the vessel to bulk prime I have done that once and found for me it wasnt a great time saver.

best time to brew is when you get time to :p can be 1am can be 1pm it doesnt matter it still makes beer

agree with above, although never done a lager I don't have the patience :eek:

You raise an interesting point too Kelby regarding the time factor, I don't think bulk priming is that great for it either. The one big difference i guess is the brewer can tweak the priming levels to suit the beer they are making.

As for the time of day, the closer to midnight you get the more likely you are of not putting the bag or false bottom in your mash tun and a whole world of brew day disaster possibilities :ph34r: