Red Saison - help needed.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

technobabble66

Meat Popsicle
Reaction score
Ok, the plan is to try my hand at a Red Saison.
Now i've never done a saison before so it'd obviously be much smarter to try a basic version like the Bullshead ones. However, this is to be inflicted upon the Vic Case Swap & the Merri Mashers (probably 2 variants of the same recipe) and so i thought i should do something a bit more exciting than a basic saison. Could be foolish (open to advice there).
I've just done a Celtic Red that worked well, just not very red. So i used that recipe, then altered it a bit, then a bit more, then finally came up with this one.
I'm obviously in need of advice on this one as it's currently a bit of a stab in the dark.

Poignarder Rouge Saison
("Red Stab Saison" - fancy hey!?)

Vol = 23.5
OG = 1.047
FG = 1.007
IBU = 27.2
EBC = 26.4
alc = 5.4%

4kg Pilsner
0.1kg Munich 2
0.1kg CaraAroma
0.1kg Melanoiden
0.1kg Amber
0.05kg Roasted Barley
0.15kg Acidulated

Mash roughly 55/63/72/78 for 10/60/20/5

5g Horizon @60min
10g Horizon @40min
15g Spalt Select @ 20min

Yeast, not sure: one of MJ's Belgian Ale, Belle Saison, or try one of the liquids.

Now the main issue is the malt grist. There's maybe too many things in there, but reasoning is to bump up the maltiness a little (Munich 2, Melanoiden), add some colour (CaraAroma, RB, Amber) add the dried fruit flavours (CaraAroma), and a slight toasted edge (Amber).

Feedback v welcome (& needed) on all fronts.
Thanks!

From my experiments with Saison I'd recommend going simple. As distinctive as Saison flavor is, I've managed to bury it beneath the flavors of amber attempts a few times now. FWIW my next one will be by the book. That's my two cents.