Priming a Dunkelweizen

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neilbay

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a bit of a newbie to brewing, and to this forum, so forgive me if this has been asked before and feel free to point me in the right direction.

I have put down a dunkelweizen that smells, looks and tastes great. I plan on bulk priming but am getting a bit confused about the quantity of dextrose to use per litre.

I have 21 litres to bottle, It was fermented at a max temp of 22 degrees and I am looking for a CO2 volume of around 3.9.

On checking out the web and various forums I am seeing people saying between 6 and 7gms/ litre but when I use one of the Priming calculators, such as Brewers Friend, I am getting a figure of 285gms for the 21 litres, which equates to 13.5gms / litre. This seems a bit high for bottling and I don't want bombs.

Am i missing something? Your help would be greatly appreciated as i want to bottle today.

Hi neilbay,

Welcome to the forum. I just looked at a couple of recipes of Weizen I did and found that I used between 6 and 7gm/L for the last few brews I did and they were around 19-20C mark. That was good enough for me. Try this attachment for size if you want to get technical about CO2 volumes or gm/L. It's accurate enough, though some of it may not be perfect.

Attachments

• Essential Guide to Bulk Priming PDF.pdf
    270.9 KB · Views: 38
Hi neilbay,

Welcome to the forum. I just looked at a couple of recipes of Weizen I did and found that I used between 6 and 7gm/L for the last few brews I did and they were around 19-20C mark. That was good enough for me. Try this attachment for size if you want to get technical about CO2 volumes or gm/L. It's accurate enough, though some of it may not be perfect.