Primary Fermentation

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the_purple_dragon

Reaction score
G'day brewers,

I'm a rookie brewer on his second brew, the first a Coopers Lager that took 5 days for the primary fermentation at about 25 deg. I know the temp is a bit high but thats what I have to work with for now. OG-1038 & FG-1006

The second brew at the same temp, a Coopers Canadian Blonde OG-1045 & currently 1012 after 63 hours with very little airlock action. Is 3.5 to 4 days to quick for primary?

Allthoughts appreciated.

Cheers,
TPD

G'day brewers,

I'm a rookie brewer on his second brew, the first a Coopers Lager that took 5 days for the primary fermentation at about 25 deg. I know the temp is a bit high but thats what I have to work with for now. OG-1038 & FG-1006

The second brew at the same temp, a Coopers Canadian Blonde OG-1045 & currently 1012 after 63 hours with very little airlock action. Is 3.5 to 4 days to quick for primary?

Allthoughts appreciated.

Cheers,
TPD

the fact that you describe the time frame in hours should be an indication that enough time hasnt elapsed. 1012 is fine for a FG, but every brew differs depending on your conditions, adjuncts, etc. if you are in a rush to bottle it, then take hydro readings over 3 consecutive days, and if they are the same, then it is safe to bottle. but there isnt too much bad that can come from leaving it for a while (i have left my 2 brews in for 2 weeks each). i bottle after the brew becomes darker to look at from the top, which is in indication that the yeast has settled out of suspension, and a very good indicator that fermentation has finished. also, it will help with the clarity of your final product.

so, in short, RDWHAHB (relax, dont worry, have a home brew)

Lobby