Possible allergy/reaction to home brew ingredients

madpierre06

WARNING: GRAPHIC ADULT THEMES

I've got a query that others may be able to answer. About 2 1/2 weeks ago I was trying a few bottles from the Qld case swap and had an ale followed by a Belgian Stout. The stout did give me a fair warm flush which I put down to alcohol content or a combo with some cold & flu medication I had taken earlier that morning. I was feeling a tad dicey so was unable to finish the bottle of stout and ended up having dinner and an early night as I was still a bit dicey. I woke up at 3am and was straight to the dunny with a vesuvious imitation going full bore at both ends. The first few chucks were all mucous (due to ongoing sinus issues) but the last 3 or 4 chucks up to the last one at around 2pm that arvo had little else other than STOUT in 'em. It was shocking, it seriously felt like some guy with a pump dropped the intake down to the bottom of my gut and got out every last friggin' dreg. I was pretty shot for the next week as I then got hit a double whammy with a bloody chest infection.

The curious thing is that over the last week I've tried to have a beer on a few occasions and can't bloody do it. I've tried a handful of different home brews (both AG and kit variants) and can barely finish half a tallie due to feeling quite crook and almost fullish/bloated. I did have a stubby each of S&W Lager and Coopers Pale Ale and was able to handle them a little better but the home brews haven't had the best of results. I don't believe it's related to the concept of not being able to face the source of a massive chuck (e.g. I simply cannot face even the smell of ouzo after a big night on it years ago) ans am a little stumped on this and was hoping someone may have heard or come across this or something similar.

perhaps, you need a blind tasting of some commercial craft and home brewed beers, just to rule out any psychological factors.

I dunno if you are in Melb Pierre but there's been a gastro bug getting around that is pretty bad. I had it and I don't think I'll be able to face a curried sausage ever again. I think your brain and body get fixated on the last thing that went in before everything went out and in your case it is most unfortunately beer, beautiful beer.

Me ? I'll miss curried snags but you may have to kill yourself.

As I did not contribute to that swap my conscience is clear . :)
I really feel for you MP but surely this is just an on-going case of some common virus which afflicts us all?

I strongly recommend that you seek urgent medical help from a qualified medical practitioner and be completely honest with them rather than put your faith in some dodgy answer from some dodgy Yankee brewing forum.

Just my 2-cents mate & looking forward to your better health ITNF. :beer:

431neb said:
I dunno if you are in Melb Pierre but there's been a gastro bug getting around that is pretty bad. I had it and I don't think I'll be able to face a curried sausage ever again. I think your brain and body get fixated on the last thing that went in before everything went out and in your case it is most unfortunately beer, beautiful beer.

Me ? I'll miss curried snags but you may have to kill yourself.
We did have a nasty bug go through us (hehe, no pun intended but I'll take it) at work where we are more susceptible to those sorts of things and I had put that down to the upheavals. I was hoping it wasn't a psychological factor which has led to the after effects but fear it may be. I guess there is no such factor/fear which can't be overcome, it may just take a sustained period of treatment.

Mate, that's a real ******* about curried sausages, I put most curries on a par with beer in terms of favoured food/beverages.

Hey pete, hope you're well mate. Just to clear up I hold no member of the swap in any way responsible for the affliction which ails me. :D And certainly wasn't on the lookout for dodgy grandma remedies etc, merely searching for those who may have had similar experiences. My GP is actually quite flummoxed by this aspect of it.

It's the bug, whatever it is. you're recovering and alcohol will f*** you up. Your body knows this, your brain does not. So your body makes you feel sick so your brain doesn't let you drink. It will pass, and beer will again be good.

Blind Dog said:
It's the bug, whatever it is. you're recovering and alcohol will f*** you up. Your body knows this, your brain does not. So your body makes you feel sick so your brain doesn't let you drink. It will pass, and beer will again be good.
I think this "blind dog" can see and Pierre is in fact Mad.

Was zis bier what you call by ze nom of “stout” made by ze No Chill method?

Ah ha!. I suspect ze Botulism!, nest-ce pa.

Poirot2.JPG

Feldon said:

:icon_offtopic:

Ah! That bloody great excellent champion of detection Hercule Poirot aka David Suchet.

What can one say about this humble man who appeared on the ABC's "Q &A" last Monday night?
There are not enough words in the English language to describe this champion of the Agatha Christie "Poirot" series.

Rock On Poirot! :super: :super: :super:

Blind Dog said:
That makes sense, I had figured after a few days of feeling much better that a ale would go down ok.

Feldon said:

I was more thinking Inspector Clouseau of The Surete :D

And I'm not sure if it was made by ze No Chill method. All I know is zat 24 hours after drinking half a bottle it had still been puddled in the bottom of my gut. That's some damn fine stout.

Pierre, I hope you get better soon mate. As blind dog mentioned, it is best for your body to be fully recovered before you take any home prescriptions of case swap ales. It might be a good idea to look into getting some sauerkraut into your system. It gives you a good boost of gut flora which will help your immune system. Then a little bit of patience and the home brews will flow through you in a good way hopefully.

"If problems persist, see your doctor".... as they say in the classics.

Seeing a doc would be a good start however if you had a bit of a bug and the stout was brewed using brown sugar then this combo could explain a lot. Trust you're better and as they say " if you fall off your bike......"

Hi MadPierre

You really do have my sympathy - I've been there (not with beer though) and after less than a day of it you feel as though you are not only really well washed out, but spun-dry, ironed and starched.

I'm no doctor, but from limited knowledge it really doesn't sound like a sensitivity or allergic reaction at all. You'd normally expect those to give visible symptoms like rashes and skin irritations, or at the other more extreme end of the scale swollen lips, closing of the throat and windpipe etc from the swelling resulting from the anaphylaxis. The fact you weren't rushed to hospital or died suggests it is well less than the extreme end of the scale.

What you describe sounds much more like a type of "food poisoning" response. I'm not saying the beers you were given were bad, but it could have been something you ate several hours before cracking a bottle (and Mr Brain has associated that with the beer). I really don't know with any certainty, but you really should think about seeing your GP and explaining everything step by step. They can refer you to specialists if at all necessary (immunologist, pathothogists, beer sampling doctors etc).

Hope all turns out well and take good care until you are 100%.

Phil