Playing with brett without extra equipment.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mje1980

Old Thunder brewery
Reaction score
I'm a total noob with funky and sour beers, but am getting right into them. I was setup to keg a saison the other week and got thinking it'd be good to try some of it with brett, as I've seen lots of positive reviews about brett and saison. I didn't really want to sacrifice one of my fermentors though. I had an orval in the fridge at the time and the ole brain started ticking. Here's what I did. May not be new or revolutionary but it went well.

1.) drink orval.

2.) add wort of beer to be bottled to the orval bottle. I just put it under the tap, but if you're really scared, use a Pyrex jug to transfer. Swirl it round in the bottle to get it moving.

3.) bottle the rest of the beer as normal, leaving a few litres

4.) split the wort from the orval bottle into 4 or 5 bottles ( I used belgian ones, and would only use them ), fill the rest of the way, prime, and bottle as normal.

No hoses or fermenters came into contact with any bugs.

As i mentioned I'm new to this so any thoughts and comments are welcome. I do have a dedicated 10 litre cube for secondary with brett, but the above needs no extra equipment, other than the Belgian bottles I suppose.

Step two. Do you mean add the finished beer from your primary fermenter? I hope you're not priming unfermented wort?